We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of The Golden Fleece

The Golden Fleece
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Tremadog
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A quirky traditional family run coaching inn offering Quality en-suite B&B accommodation, excellent food: breakfasts, lunches and evening meals, large plant based meal selection, Beer garden, real fire, over 70 welsh gins. Showcasing high welfare Welsh produce.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We have just had a lovely meal here today. Both had burgers they were delicious and big portions too Service was excellent, Dog friendly too, they brought out a bowl of water for our dog Will definitely be coming again lovely pub

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Steven Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Luckily we booked a table a few days in advance, they were continually turning people away while we were there

They have a good selection on the menu, and the items we chose were served quickly. Everything was delicious. Attention to Covid precautions were faultless and we felt perfectly safe during our meal

It’s also in a lovely setting in the centre of Tremadog - just don’t expect to be able to walk in without a reservation. It’s far too popular for that

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank philguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021

We booked a table for Sunday lunch but didn’t realise it was just a Sunday lunch menu. What I mean by that is it’s a roast dinner only but we are all really glad it was. The meal was very good and we enjoyed it very much, choosing the lamb and pork option. We didn’t get a Yorkshire pudding which was disappointing but we had a good feed all the same. The kids ( teenagers) chose the vanilla cheese cake for pudding which came with more of a raspberry ice cream sauce than a berry compote but again they enjoyed it all the same. The staff were friendly and helpful and if we ever return to the area would wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kirstyh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

Entered, waited to be seated. Slow. Chatted amongst ourselves. Took time to get menues and orders in. Took a long time getting food. And we got served before other customers. Staff not very professional or friendly and the person who appeared in charge needs to go on a training course. But apart from that, very good food.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank adriank63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Owner at The Golden Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Thanks for your review.
Sorry you had to wait to be seated as per government regulation.
Sorry the staff couldn't hang around to have a chat with you as we normally would, it's not that we're not friendly it's just that government regulations state we have to keep contact with customers at a minimum.

I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your total understanding of all the extra work our team are having to do to meet covid regulations... Track and trace, the extra time we are spending sanitising menus, tables etc.
Furthermore I thank you for your understanding that team members of not worked in months and this was either on their 1st or 2nd day back.
Finally Let me thank you for leaving this somewhat negative review in the first week of opening, we are so sorry you had to wait longer than usual.
Kindest Regards
Team Fleece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Valentines take away meal. Fabulous!!! Very well organised. Polite staff and well organised. Although I had a 20 minute drive home, worried about the food going cold and stale. My concerns were unfounded. Starters were prawn cocktail and whitebait. Mains were lamb and turkey. Puds cheesecake and chocolate cake. All fabulous and very tasty. Best of all we didn’t have to cook it. A big thank you to all involved. We would definitely do this again. 10/10

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank VisableLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Fleece also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to The Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.