We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from Ben 👏🏻”

CookHouse Pub & Carvery
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Prestatyn
Certificate of Excellence
Description: CookHouse Pub & Carvery, a family-friendly pub and carvery, with a stylish and contemporary feel, opened in July 2015 and is located on the High Street, Prestatyn. CookHouse has something for everyone, with breakfast served from 9am, lunch service from 11.30am, and the carvery opening from midday, there’s plenty of options available until food service finishes at 8pm. Our outdoor terrace and kids play area make the perfect setting for a family friendly alfresco dining experience. We host the best Pub Quiz in town every Thursday and along with live music every Saturday, we have created a dining experience with all ages in mind!
Restaurant details
Description: CookHouse Pub & Carvery, a family-friendly pub and carvery, with a stylish and contemporary feel, opened in July 2015 and is located on the High Street, Prestatyn. CookHouse has something for everyone, with breakfast served from 9am, lunch service from 11.30am, and the carvery opening from midday, there’s plenty of options available until food service finishes at 8pm. Our outdoor terrace and kids play area make the perfect setting for a family friendly alfresco dining experience. We host the best Pub Quiz in town every Thursday and along with live music every Saturday, we have created a dining experience with all ages in mind!
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

My friend and I went down to the Cookhouse for food and drinks, and to join in the pub quiz. Unfortunately they forgot an item off our order but Ben quickly sorted it out for us. He was also really attentive to everyone not just us. P.S. join in on our team next time!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank kayla0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwaterTeam, Marketing at CookHouse Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Dear Kayla,

Thank you for your excellent 5* review and lovely comments regarding your visit and Ben!

We do hope you did well in the quiz and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Marketing & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Visited with the family this week, the staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was delicious, we all had different dishes and we couldn't find a fault with any of them, we managed to find room for desert and thankgod we did. Highly recommended if your looking for a nice, friendly, relaxed restaurant. We're already planning our next visit!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank arathbone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwaterTeam, Marketing at CookHouse Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you very much for your great 5* review. Your comments are so thoughtful and very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Marketing & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

How is this place still got a hygiene rating dirty sticky floor and food left on tables thought they had to be cleaned after every sit down 2 of our party had carvery meat was cold roasties Rock hard vegetables cold 2 had mix grills black pudding like plastic sausages tasted like Saturdays breakfast left overs 1 had fish and chips batter was two soggy send tasted like burnt oil I would never recommend this cookhouse brand to anyone will not be visiting again let's hope the hygiene officer visits

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank robbieh998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwaterTeam, Marketing at CookHouse Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Robbie,

I am sorry you were disappointed with your meals and it is a shame that you felt you could leave us a review like this. Your comments are as offensive to us as your title suggests. We take great pride in our menu and the cleanliness of our restaurant is of paramount importance. I do hope you find an establishment that is more to your liking and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Shelly Kennedy

Marketing & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

So we booked on the website for a family meal when we arrived was waiting over five minutes before anyone seen to us, they then walked off after muttering something then a few minutes later came back and took us to the table

It took a good 15/20 minutes to take our order for drinks and longer for our meal order

The food came out and the children’s meals and lamb shank was luke warm the two Carvery meals were nice and hot and not an issue, desserts were nice too but took a while to order and the two deserts were wrong when brought out and had to keep getting up asking for drinks

Talking about drinks, no fruit shoots, no blackcurrant cordial for kids not the best considering suppose to be a family friendly pub

Mentioned the poor service to the manager and he just made excuses blaming staffing levels, covid and that weren’t used to doing table service

Well if this is the case get more staff

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank NeilP278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwaterTeam, Marketing at CookHouse Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your feedback, we apologise for the delays you encountered and appreciate your lovely comments regarding our carvery and dessert menu. We will take your comments on board and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Marketing & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Had a table for 6 adults and 1 baby queued for 30 minutes before a member of staff even bothered to check the waiting area massive queue behind us. Then had to chase the member of staff as he shot to the other side of the restaurant shouting follow me. Walked past the open carvery to see dirty pots and pans stacked up surely the is a kitchen out of view for these. We arrived at the table to be told we would have to split up on 2 booths back to back so we couldn’t even see the rest of our family. I was more annoyed that we had to split up when there was large tables but they had seated 3 people on what a waste of a big table that would easily fit 8. Tables we got were sticky and dirty no high chair which was requested at booking. We were so disgusted by the service and cleanliness we left didn’t even sit down would not be here or to any other cookhouse again

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank W3108GHjoanneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwaterTeam, Marketing at CookHouse Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

I am sorry that you had this experience with us and we apologise for the delays you encountered. We understand your frustration and apologise that you felt unable to dine with us. As restrictions have eased we have welcomed so many holiday makers to our establishment and our team have worked tirelessly to offer a great service to everyone who has dined with us. It’s a shame that you are choosing not to visit us again as we would love to show you why so many of our customers return to us time and again.

Regards,

Shelly Kennedy

Marketing & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CookHouse Pub & Carvery also viewed

 

Been to CookHouse Pub & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.