We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
837
145
43
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
145
43
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port wine turn down service paulette's restaurant terrace bar four poster bed truffle boutique hotel gourmet breakfast complimentary glass of wine mud island view of the river romantic getaway mighty mississippi little touches the penthouse beale street each evening
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We so are enjoying our 3-night stay in this inn. You can’t beat the location, for starters. The rooms are luxurious, there’s turndown service complete with port and chocolates, and the service is outstanding. If you go to Memphis there’s no better place to stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ScribblerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the river inn was an absolute pleasure. In summary :
Pros: very clean, quiet, very polite and friendly service, lovely and spacious rooms, location in front of the magnificent river. Amazing food!
Cons: breakfast could be better, why not buffet? I've had better breakfast at doubletree...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

From arrival to departure our stay was perfect! The rooms, while smallish, were well equipped and stylish. The restaurant was very good with a comprehensive menu. The Staff were all great and nothing was too much trouble! A special thank you to Jack, Marki and the lady who did our laundry xxx. Overall a great stay in a great place with some great staff! Thank you for looking after us xx - The Brits xx

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gremlin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We chose to stay in this hotel, because it is ranked very high on Tripadvisor. This is one of the few times that Tripadvisor disappoints me. I do not understand how people can give to this hotel, such a high rank. This is an old hotel with a very small and dusty rooms, that need an immediate renovation. When i saw the room, i went down to the check in desk, in order to replace it to a better one, but i was told that this is what they have, and they can do nothing about it. The staff members are making you a favor that they even treat you. There are no bellboys, and you have to handle your luggage by yourself. (In our case 10 pcs.). Whereever you go, there is a bad smell in the air. Breakfast is usual and minimal. We stayed ther 2 nights and we were doing the maximum, in order to spend there the minimum time...The only good thing about this hotel is its location, near the river and in a very peaceful and beautiful neighborhood.Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L17S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlfriedrich1, General Manager at River Inn of Harbor Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Sir,
thank you for your constructive review, we do appreciate all feed back from our patrons which helps us to correct problems and to better our selves. I do apologies for the no bellman help,, our front desk agents do usually ask our arriving guest if they need help with the luggage and help if requested. sorry it was not done with you when checking in. we do offer different size rooms/categories from our Standard room category (which is 250 square feet to deluxe, superior and suites (Junior, Grand and Penthouse) , most of our rooms offer river view . our rooms also have eight different color variation, from light colors to dark brow or blue.
I assume you have been staying in one of our standard rooms, which are usually very sufficient to our guest,
we would appreciate if you give us some more details in order to investigate to find out the front desk team member who checked you in and didn't offer any help. this should not have happened.
please contact me at karlf@riverinnmemphis.com .
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

So glad to have found this very quaint and charming boutique hotel.

From the moment of my arrival I knew I had picked a great place to stay for my week in Memphis. I was greeted by Jack at the front desk. He checked me in quickly and offered me a complimentary glass of wine or champagne. The lobby is very elegant and quaint. The live music offered every evening in the lobby area and off of the bar area was a very nice touch and added to the ambiance. The last evening I was there I had dinner at their rooftop restaurant. The view was spectacular and the food was delicious!! Every single person working at the River Harbor Inn and in both of the restaurants that I came in contact with from the beginning till check out were kind and very accommodating. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was always a perfect temperature with lot's of pressure.

A couple of things that I think should be mentioned. The lighting of the guest room is very poor. I understand wanting the dimly lit ambience, but it would be nice to have a choice as a guest. Maybe, three way bulbs or dimmers installed so that if the guest would like it a little brighter it would be possible. The other is the availability of coffee in the morning. I was not aware that there was coffee available each morning near the elevator area until my last morning. It would be nice to have a coffee maker in the room.

I travel to Memphis on business quite frequently throughout the year and regret that I did not know about this hotel until now. Going forward I will be staying at this property,

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H7933KAandreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews