We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor compared to surrounding competition”

The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Killin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Here at The Boathouse we are proud to offer a warm Scottish welcome to all of our guests for lunch and dinner. Situated beside the marina overlooking the loch, our hearty menu is inspired by the fantastic range of options Scotland has to offer. We are delighted to serve up an array of home cooked Scottish favourites including Shetland island mussels, freshly landed fish and chips, The Boathouse steak pie, haggis, neeps and tatties and many other classics. Expect to find Sunday Roasts, weekend and seasonal specials serving up some of the finest seafood we have on offer in Scotland. Themed evenings and events are very much part of our offering especially during the summer months. Our bar area offers a warm and cosy welcome whether your tipple is a beer, cocktail, gin or dram. And don’t forget we have the most fabulous outdoor seating overlooking the stunning Loch, the perfect spot to enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine on a glorious sunny day.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

made to sit outside in wind with the wasps when so called fully booked restaurant was 40% empty for duration of our meal. watery fish pie and steak pie which also tasted odd. fish pie was also very poor value for money and should have been half the price. portion sizes poor for price in comparison to other resturants in the area.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 269kennyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie186534, Owner at The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and will look into this further. Sadly at the moment on occasion due to the nature of the industry we are experiencing shortage in staff which we do hope will improve soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at one of the lodges on the site and enjoyed 2 meals during our holiday. Really great service and delicious food. Highly recommend the haggis needs and tatties

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank porkpieGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie186534, Owner at The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us on two occasions during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at one of the lodges for the week from 9th -13th August. Me and a friend went a walk and decided to pop in for a drink, she waited outside at a table and I popped in to ask if it was okay- a young boy spoke to me after waiting about 5minutes and told me he didnt know he will check then another girl came up and told me not to worry just take a free table and she ll be out to take a drinks order.
Our partners popped down for a drink another day and asked if they show the football the girl said I dont know but theres the tv (nothing was showing) so they decided not to bother and watch it back at the lodge.
We had booked a table for the Wednesday for the 4 of us - arrived and it was quiet about 6tables in that we could see. We were seated at 5:50pm and ordered drinks, server did forget my water but drinks were quick. Starters took about 15/20mins to come and was nice. We were still waiting until 7.30pm for our mains and again the restaurant was maybe half full if that. Food was nice just didnt understand why so slow.
The following day we decided to get a take away from the Boathouse so called at 5:45pm and was told no you order on the app but you wont get it until 8.30pm so hung up downloaded the app put order in but it wouldnt continue as said no times available - called again to be told no take away wont start until 8.30-9.30pm but says different on their website and menu. Strange that they only do a take away for an hour but anyway waited until 8.30pm to call again and be told they dont do it. Waited all night for food - we didnt have much in and had a drink so couldnt drive to a shop. So dont actually know if they do a take away or not. We will be visiting Loch Tay again as family own lodges here but unsure if we will visit here again as our bill was £187 and dont think we could justify again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank X4244ZRcarlyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie186534, Owner at The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please can you let us know the name on your booking in order to look into your experience further. Our takeaway is available daily, there are periods during peak times where it will not be available, however you can pre order from 12pm daily. We will investigate further with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

We hired a boat and booked here afterwards for a quick lunch with the kids at 12pm. After ordering, we waited over an hour for the food to arrive which was much too long for the kids especially. I think that there was an issue with an oven. The reason for the poor review was the attitude of 2 of the staff members. The manager offered no apology for the wait, or a friendly explanation. Instead, he just brought the food with not even a smile! It created a really unpleasant atmosphere. A female member of staff again made no apology when we paid. We were never asked how the food was etc. The food was genuinely very nice. I had the fish and chips which was delicious. A quick "really sorry for the wait the reason is x y,z..." would have made a world of difference. We all know that problems happen and we would all have been sympathetic, but this was dealt with poorly and left us all feeling awkward.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank oOmaundOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie186534, Owner at The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We very much apologise for your experience with us and have looked into this with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

This is our second visit food was fantastic staff very friendly and extremely helpful service excellent surroundings just stunning had a desert this time and was amazing didn't want it to end

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Missdee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie186534, Owner at The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. So glad you got to sample to great Scottish desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.