We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn’t Recommend More”

Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you have ever wanted to see a Golden Eagle cruising a mountain ridge or an Otter hunting the shoreline, then you have an excellent chance of making your dream come true on one of our day tours around the dramatic Isle of Skye.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Andy was a wonderful and knowledgeable guide. He was happy to answer any questions and was very friendly and approachable. We were lucky enough to see some stunning golden and sea eagles along with a host of other birds. If you are keen to see the wildlife of Skye and are willing to be patient then this is perfect for you. Thank you Andy.

Thank Tristan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyeWildlife, Owner at Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thanks for the review Tristan, good to hear you enjoyed the day and got the sightings you were after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red deer"
in 12 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 10 reviews
"golden eagle"
in 14 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"spotting scope"
in 4 reviews
"hen harrier"
in 3 reviews
"sea eagles"
in 27 reviews
"isle of skye"
in 9 reviews
"lovely chap"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this to anyone"
in 2 reviews
"red throated divers"
in 2 reviews
"knew where"
in 3 reviews
"explore the island"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 3 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"bad weather"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

If you wish to observe examples of the varied wild life Skye has to offer this is the way to do it. Andy has the advantage of local knowledge of sites and makes a thoughtful plan of likely viewing areas. The importance of such knowledge was highlighted as we had visited a few of the areas visited on our tour and seen very little. Knowing where to look is extremely important. All our target species were observed on our trip which fulfilled our ambitions.
Andy is an extremely accommodating guy who professionally guides clients through the day. All questions well answered with detailed information which adds value to the day.
All aspects of the trip were a real joy. The food, the comfort of the bus and the pace of the trip all worked well.
If it’s wild life that you want to see there is no better way of enjoying the experience.
Andy sights species that would pass the attention of a casual observer.
Highly commendable!!!

Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyeWildlife, Owner at Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Cheers Tony, glad you enjoyed your day out. Knowing the landscape, and habits of our wildlife, certainly helps when trying to see things. And it's great to be able to share that and know it's of use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

What a great day and a great guide. I will start with the end....Yes Andy takes you on a tour, no it doesn’t follow a set route, is there an abundance of wildlife at every stop ? No. What you get is a fantastic introduction to the Wildlife of Skye and lots of tips and advice to enable you to maximise the chance of spotting wildlife on your own. The day was jam packed but plenty of stops and the minibus is very comfortable. We had a close encounter with a golden eagle flying right above us in the sun, a breathless experience. We saw other goldies and fish Eagles. A mother otter and her 2 cubs was kind enough to entertain us during lunch (delicious by the way) we saw Northern Divers and too many other sea birds to mention. Cavorting buzzards was an unexpected delight, and some very inquisitive seals and a fish eagle finished the trip as it began, on a high note. The only thing I wish was different was that I’d booked this earlier in my stay.

Thank moorhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyeWildlife, Owner at Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review. As you say, I do try to pass on my experience so people can find our wildlife when out on their own. Certainly going out with me early on when here on holiday gives the opportunity to use that knowledge and revisit locations, and is something we encourage. It was a great day out and for me the first time I’d seen that particular Otter out with her cubs - a delightful moment.

Really glad you enjoyed your day.
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We stayed on Skye after Easter and spent a day with Andy soon after we arrived. It was an excellent introduction to Skye and its wildlife with a very knowledgable and friendly guide. We had a super day and would highly recommend the tour. We had some fantastic sightings including eagles, sea eagles, an otter, seals and numerous birds. But remember - Skye is not a zoo ! Apex predators (eagles, otters) are elusive and hard to find. Thankfully, what we learnt from Andy on our trip meant that we knew where to look for otters, eagles and seals during the rest of our trip.

Thank nccat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyeWildlife, Owner at Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks for the feedback and kind review. All our locations are productive (but rarely all on the same day as you point out - there's always a bit of searching), so great to hear you were able to make the most of our day out revisiting spots during your stay.

Glad you enjoyed the Tour and your holiday.
Thanks again
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We have just returned from Skye as we stayed over Easter, and spent a day with Andy touring the island. We really loved it - he was very knowledgeable about wildlife and particularly birds on Skye. We saw a Golden Eagle and an otter off one of the small beaches. Andy has a very good telescope which makes a big difference. It was good to spend the day with someone who knows so much about the habitat and the seasons.
Would highly recommend it.

Thank JoMc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours also viewed

 
Portree, Isle of Skye
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Isle of Skye Wildlife Tours -Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing