We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
96
111
76
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
111
76
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night the pub toilet and shower block shop on site apple cross toilets showers couple of nights pitch caravan coast pods dog laundry walks skye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two nights here really wasn't enough; should have made it more. The room was small but had wonderful views over the loch. It's not often you can see black-throated divers and eider ducks from your bedroom. Judy and her team at the inn were so friendly and the food was terrific. The fish pie, scallops and monkfish were the dinner highlights, and the parsnip soup at lunchtime was all you need to keep you going for the afternoon - that and the promise of a sticky-toffee pudding for desert in the evening - the best I've ever tasted!

There are a number of really nice walks nearby - particularly liked the one to the Coral Beach, with its beautiful, white sands. And in the other direction the Victorian walled-garden is a highlight, although gardeners may feel jealous about the prolific flowers and veg - helped, no doubt, by the copious application of seaweed as fertiliser.

We found everyone we came across in the community really friendly and welcoming (no doubt thanks in part to our good friend TJ living there and being our guide).

The one - and serious - downside was the hoards of motorists doing the NC500. Lots were driving in convoys, showing off their boy-racer skills. How can the Scottish tourist board be so environmentally and culturally insensitive as to encourage people to come up to this remote and slow-moving part of the world and race around it in 5 days. Grrrrh!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Having booked to come to the campsite for Easter, Scottish restrictions have meant the site closing. We were booked on to 5 different sites to do the NC500, and all but Applecross were willing to give a full refund.

I understand that businesses have had it hard during lockdowns, and we’re all trying to make ends meet, but making money out of the situation when they can’t provide the product paid for is poor.

I’d rather be giving my money to businesses and people who have better values at their core.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020

WE stayed in one of the static caravans - the Winchester.
The caravan was well equipped and very cosy.
The views are absolutely stunning - looking over the sea to Raasay and Skye.
Beautiful sunsets.
The staff were great, and even helped tow out car when we got stuck in very soft muddy ground.
Only a short walk from the Applecross Inn.
We will be back and can definitely recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annemD3427QM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Cannot really say that there was any hardstanding on this site. The pitches were extremely muddy (so glad I had taken wellies) you had to remove any footwear before getting back in van and dog got filthy.
No WiFi and no telly reception. If you don’t have a pipe to remove grey waste no proper facilities to get rid. Think would camp off line when in this area next time.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020

Functional site,however the grass of the site had been cut while wet (which is probably fairly often) .This led to wet clumps of grass in the toilets and showers and into the camper despite washing. Stayed the one night without problems,however on going to the toilet and shower block the next morning at 7 ish,we were told it was closed until 9.30 for cleaning. Surely that's when people get up and want to use the loo or shower? No shop on site and the village store a quarter of a mile away was basic.There is however plenty of warning that you should stock up before arriving.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank alisdair s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews