We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
97
114
79
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
114
79
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night the pub toilet and shower block shop on site apple cross toilets showers couple of nights pitch caravan coast pods dog laundry walks skye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Stayed here one night in the second field, which was lovely and relatively quiet. There was a nice clean shower block but the toilets and showers are together so there is a possibility for having to wait longer for people to finish their shower before you can use the toilet. No bins in this area either so you have to trail all your rubbish back to the entrance.
On checking out ( we decided to leave early as weather was rubbish) the toilets
/showers beside us were full as the main block was closed for cleaning. So as we had a long journey ahead this wasn’t ideal. When I asked why this was the lady I spoke to got annoyed and went on about Covid and sanitising which I get but maybe close the facilities when people have left at 11 and reopen before check in . Other campsites do this so it makes sense. We weren’t the only people with this view.
Under normal circumstances this campsite probably is fine as it is a good base for touring or just a stop over. Compared to other campsites we visited that weekend from booking to leaving the staff appeared to be abrupt and it felt like we were being discouraged from coming.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeniharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

By accident we turned up to the the wrong campsite but the guy on reception was understanding and offered us to stay there that night. There was plenty space for us to pitch our tent and car. Female toilets were okay but men’s smelt a bit funny. Went to shower in the morning but it was daddy long legs central.

We stayed at a different campsite a couple of nights later and it was cheaper but offered a lot more. Therefore we felt this was a standard campsite but had what you needed and you can’t fault the location.

Applecross was our favourite little spot from the whole trip, feel so away from real life. A pretty little place.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank geokeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020 via mobile

Arrived on this site for 2 nights at the end of our NC 500 trip. Really friendly guy at reception showed us to our ‘hard standing pitch’ which is certainly exaggerating. Have attached a photo of our pitch. This campsite is really just a field on a farm and charging expensive prices for it. Probably worst site we have ever stayed on, was so untidy and grass badly needed cutting.

Scenery is beautiful and a few good walks to take the dogs on. Had s meal in Applecross Inn that was really good but need to book in advance.

Very noisy site with people arriving till late at night then being wakened at 5am in the morning by people leaving opening and closing the gate. Cars drive far too fast onsite throwing up dust. Doesn’t seem to be any rules and regulations over noise and speed.

Didn’t use toilet facilities so cant comment on them.

On leaving my husband asked at reception where motorhome grey water disposal was, he was told he needed to empty it into a bucket then into a drain!! This is what we paid £29 a night for.

Definitely needs some upgrading. Would advise anyone in the area to just wild camp like many others, probably more peaceful.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lindawwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020

Thank you to Apple Cross campsite for a fantastic week as lockdown eases. The toilet and shower facility is excellent and spotless. Regularly cleaned by the boss. Tip left to show our appreciation. Wifi at the office to keep in touch. Friendly and accommodating staff. Great view of the sea and a few few minutes from the pub but book well in advance for a meal. Take away van is available.

Brilliant start point for exploring mtb options. Coffin trail is excellent.

For sailors it's a great place to base to explore the coast. Public jetty at Milltown to put in and out but very steep and the tide is required to retrieve. You can sail back to Apple Cross bay to store overnight but the council have blocked the temporary put in with large rocks to stop wild camping.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank WayfarerSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2020 via mobile

Great little campsite, everyone who has travelled to Applecross has made a fair effort to get there, so mostly families on tour or hikers / Bikers. Very clean and not too disrupted by Covid rules, but everyone keeping their distance and campsite instructions on conduct very clear , pragmatic and non dictatorial. Reception guy was very accommodating when i managed yo lock us out of the pod at 10pm and organised a spare key within minutes despite being off duty.

Toilets and showers cleaned very regularly and overall we were very impressed will visit again

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JYildirim1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews