We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Urquhart Castle
from US$25.22
More Info
from US$84.08
More Info
from US$597.90
More Info
from US$91.09
More Info
Reviews (5,310)
Filter reviews
5,310 results
Traveller rating
2,782
1,709
535
168
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,782
1,709
535
168
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch ness explorer pass short film historic scotland gift shop scottish history visitor center stunning location car park great history information boards fantastic views sunny day boat trip ruin tower visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 5,310 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booking on line was easy.
Concession prices , children’s prices and free carers tickets ( with Prove)” can hire mobile scooter definitely recommend if mobility problem even if you have a manual wheelchair (very steep )
Disabled parking but more parent and child parking than accessible Parking.
Cafe and shop at at enterence .Supposed to be open until 6pm during summer but started to close at 4.30 whennwe went.
Beautiful location .very helpful staff and would definitely return.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank susana397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful ruined castle on the shores of Loch Ness. Walked down to the actual shoreline and watched the boats go by.

Very well laid out information boards for each section of the castle.

Gift shop has some nice souvenirs and fairly reasonable.

Make sure you book in advance to ensure your entrance slot

Date of experience: August 2021
2  Thank ferg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This Castle is worth a visit as the setting is spectacular. It’s a derelict castle ruin but full of history. Right if the shore of Loch Ness. If you have English Heritage membership entrance is free. There are many stairs everywhere so not really suitable for wheelchair access but wheelchair users can still come here and have access to limited areas. There is a shop, a cafe and toilets. There is a place where you can go right down to the banks of the loch and the it’s worth it!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Ziggy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place views across the loch were amazing, staff really friendly.Well worth a visit for an hour or so just for the picture opportunities, decent history lesson as well

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank bluemeanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So firstly we were turned away because we didn’t have pre booked tickets. Went away and booked a 1.30pm time slot. Returned yet again and parked up. Walked over to ticket office to have our tickets scanned only to be told no dogs allowed. I cannot understand the reason behind this. Urquhart Castle is an outdoor ruin. What harm is the dog going to do?? We were told by the staff 1 if you can go in, then swap over. I don’t think so. That’s not much of a family day out. Requested a full refund only to be told I had to send an email. Very disappointing and felt very let don’t by our own country. Still waiting on my refund!!!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank djamieson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews