We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveller rating
811
326
152
78
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
326
152
78
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course cristal restaurant deluxe room afternoon tea four poster bed main building il posto on arrival beautiful building huge bathroom birthday treat overlooking the river grand suite christmas gift relaxation room sauna and steam room leisure facilities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was well appointed given the very old building with high ceilings that it sits in. Reception staff were lovely at check in/out and the staff in general were very courteous, friendly and professional throughout our stay. The bedroom was a good size with King size bed and separate work table. The TV was not working however this was only a minor gripe. The bathroom with shower was also very good. The room was very hot at night however and despite turning the controls the heat was still belching out of the radiators which led to an uncomfortable night as there was little air coming in through the - by now - open windows due to the excellent, heavy blackout curtains. Breakfast was excellent as was dinner the night before and sitting listening to a lovely female singer on the piano. The swimming pool with sauna/steam room was a great place to relax. This would have been rated 5 star if not for the radiators that would not turn off.

Room tip: Room 9 offers a view of the on site golf course, the River Clyde and Kilpatrick hills
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Up market hotel in lovely grounds. Ample parking available and would be an ideal wedding location. Visited here and the hotel is lovely as are all the staff we came across. Not a place for a cheap weekend away and it shows particularly in the bar. For example I ordered a diet coke and was quoted £2.50. I then ordered a 2nd drink ( Jack Daniels and Coke ) and the price rose to £11.50. Bit expensive and not a place to knock them back. More a place that you want to go as a special occasion rather than a regular visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabottaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

I was touring Scotland with my elderly uncle and we had a fabulous stay at Mar Hall. Very comfortable and immaculate rooms, beautiful grounds and a super friendly staff. The entire staff was very accomodating although I would like to specifically mention Angie, Scott and Cameron for going above and beyond to ensure we had a nice stay. If I ever make it back to Scotland, I would be sure to select Mar Hall again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived whilst there was a wedding taking place. The beautifully dressed people added to stunning location. We were escorted through to the bar lounge by a delightful waitress, seated and attended to. A delicious home made soup followed by a simple yet very generous tasty smoked salmon sandwich was well above par at this Golf & Spa Hotel. Location beautiful, Staff superb, but Hotel does look tired and needs some TLC.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RogerW334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

I can't think of enough adjectives to describe this place. The scenery alone is well worthy of the price. Food was simply divine. Immaculate rooms. Staff very highly trained, helpful and polite. Out of this world experience

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews