We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveller rating
811
326
152
78
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
326
152
78
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course cristal restaurant deluxe room afternoon tea four poster bed main building il posto on arrival beautiful building huge bathroom birthday treat overlooking the river grand suite christmas gift relaxation room sauna and steam room leisure facilities
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We recently got married at Mar Hall and we could not speak highly enough of the venue. From the moment when we first visited we knew it was our ideal wedding destination and it did not disappoint. We had a few teething problems when we started to organise the wedding but these were swiftly dealt with. Our wedding planner Lisa took the time to meet with us on several occasions and was always quick to answer any questions we had. Lisa put a seamless plan in place and her and the team expertly executed it. On the day the venue was stunning, all of our guests commented on the scenery, layout and the atmosphere Mar Hall helped to create. The service was excellent, attentive without being intrusive and we all had a wonderful time. Mar Hall is a five star venue, with five star service to match and we would thoroughly recommend it for a wedding or a major event. We can't wait to go back for our anniversary.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. A little outside of Glasgow so you get to enjoy the countryside but close to the airport. Who doesn’t want to stay in a castle?!!! Service is great. Scottish breakfast daily. Everything you want!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Calbert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I attended a wedding here. The venue is absolutely beautiful with stunning views. The staff were all fantastic and very professional. Food was great. Bar was very expensive. The wedding took place in the marquee on a very warm day and I have to say was almost unbearable as there is no air conditioning so felt like 100 degrees inside. This really let it down ☹️

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nd123872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Went for wedding over Bank holiday lovely wedding /mared by poor service in hotel had to ask for toilet roll /coffee/shower gell/light bulb above bed too be replaced more than once never got bulb replaced

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank markchobday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Went over Bank Holiday Weekend for a wedding was in awe of the beautiful weather and views we had from the hotel and not far for Loch Lomond itself.
The hotel is steeped in history and so is laid out in a grand way that just makes the experience feel luxury. The hotel made the whole 4 days we were there very special not only for us but also the wedding couple, from the momment you check in to the point you check out. My only criticism is room was stifiling hot day and night with no air conditioning and 2 tiny small sash windows to open, after 2nd night had to ask for a fan even then it was still far too hot. The room was large with a high bed very comfortable and huge bathroom with bath / shower etc , due to the layout of the hotel we had to go up a number of steps, down a number of corridors, and through 5 fire doors to room with quite a bit of luggage can be daunting. I am sure you could have asked reception to get a porter with trolleys on wheels but only ever saw 1 trolley and always in use it seemed. Breakfast was well laid out and food good tasting with variety to suit everyone. The spa we never visited so no comment. Of course one of the biig things at the hotel is the golf so for those that do its 2 min away from hotel steps. Overall this hotel provides gandeur and opulence be hard to beat.

Room tip: Rooms are what you can afford choose well :)
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews