We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,463)
Filter reviews
4,463 results
Traveller rating
2,061
1,262
611
347
182
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,061
1,262
611
347
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meikle restaurant victorian spa winter garden kids club child care self catering family hotel soft play quad biking executive room outdoor activities family break bunk beds crazy golf bouncy castle the main hotel party night
Filter
Updating list...
1,184 - 1,189 of 4,463 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

A little late this review, but as I'm on my next holiday I now have time to post.
We stayed at the hydro for 3 nights in the self catering 5* lodges (can't remember the name of the lodges, but the ones down by the activity centre) so we were 20 people & 3 dogs. This was the first visit, as I had heard a lot of mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Lodges were fab we had 3 of them, 2 x 2 beds that slept 6 & 1 x 3 bed. The one my sister & I stayed in with our hubbies and dogs had a great kitchen/sitting room/dining area & both bedrooms were ensuite. The balcony over looking the fields was very nice.
We all had a fab time - ages ranged from 86 year old parents, 72 year olds, 6 of us in our 40's & the youngest child being 3, eldest being 19. All the kids had something to do from segways to high ropes & much more.
The first night we were there we ate in the hotel, it was ok nothing special. The children were able to play outside which was good on the trampolines.
The 2nd & 3rd night we ate out at Yann's in Crieff, we stay every year at GlenEagles & always have a night out at Yann's so we knew it would be good.
Having heard a lot of mixed reports about the hydro, I would love to come back as we all enjoyed, great for a family break, but don't think I would stay within the hotel.
Also the kids didn't enjoy the swimming pool, this felt dated and very small.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CatherineB3166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

It's lovely to hear that the Hydro proved ideal, in the main, for your self-catering stay, Catherine B. With so much more to yet to discover, we hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back for another family break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

the hotel is a all round classic from the food to the service you'll enjoy everything about this hotel everything catered for just so homely very family orientated clean as a whistle each bedroom is immaculate

Room tip: south side is quiet
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jungy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

We're chuffed to bits to hear that your stay was perfect in all respects, jungy333 and only hope that you'll return for another 'classic' break before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I visited Crieff Hydro on Thursday 18th August after 2pm intending to have an afternoon tea recommended by our b & b landlady. We also wanted information about dinner dances for parents who are keen ballroom dancers. Impressive building from the outside, spacious but impersonal feel to the main public rooms. Took a few minutes wait to find a member of staff to help at reception despite calling at other 'manned' points to ask for help. Eventually my wife found a member of bar staff who gave her a sheet with the Hydros day activities on it but this was misprinted and illegible so he went for help to come to reception. We waited a further 10 minutes then a young bespectacled suited chap arrived. My wife asked him if he had any information about dinner dances but his curt and condescending reply was that 'we only do ceilidhs' to which my wife asked had the hotel not held traditional dinner dances in previous years. His reply 'we've only ever done ceilidhs' made us feel we were being talked down to and treated like idiots. No apology for the wait (s) and a sour taste from a rude customer -service - free receptionists' bad day at the office meant we no longer had an appetite for afternoon tea. Crieff Hydro's loss. Won't be back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Justwantanicebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Fabulous two nights. Efficient and friendly check in. Room 235, generously appointed and beautiful views over Perth countryside. Excellent service but especially in the Brasserie by Benedict , who seemed to be working non stop. He was charming, witty and very professional in evening and morning., a genuine asset to the hotel. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Aww. we were all bowled over by your terrific review, Carol B - especially Benedict. Hearing that you're already planning a return stay rounded things off nicely too. Thanks and we all hope to see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Had a lovely few days here. Lovely food and great entertainment every night. Lots of activities for both children and adults alike. Staff very friendly. Lovely swimming pool plus Victorian swimming pool with spa.

Room tip: A wide variety of rooms.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainM0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff_Hydr0, Guest Relations Manager at Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Your review was short, but sweet, IainM0911 and every word was music to our ears - thanks! As your break was so enjoyable, we hope it won't be too long before we have the chance to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews