We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place for lunch stop”

The Pierhead Tavern
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Pierhead Tavern is situated in a beautiful location overlooking Lamlash Bay and Holy Island. A rooftop terrace provides the ideal viewpoint along with 80 covers inside to dine on our chef's delicious home cooked food. Live music every Saturday night & Sunday afternoon. Three real ale pumps along with numerous whiskys!
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We called in here for lunch on a wet last day (of four) walking the Arran Coastal Way. Very smart inside; a friendly welcome; a very good range of ales and whiskies; and an excellent bowl of Cullen Skink.
Recommended to fellow walkers.

Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePHTArran, Owner at The Pierhead Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

We love to hear how you have enjoyed your experience, thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We went to see our friend's band play here. I was really impressed with the food and choice of drink. The atmosphere is brilliant...seems to be a favourite with locals. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious and although it was still cold we managed to have a coffee out on their terrace with a lovely view across the water.
It's nice to see venues like this putting on live entertainment and I believe it should be supported as much as possible.
We are hoping to go back later this year, everyone in the hotel is so welcoming.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaqs-stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePHTArran, Owner at The Pierhead Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Skalodonia are coming back again in the Summer! Hope you come back too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We had a lovely dinner in the Pierhead servid in a lovley atmosphere and with really good and helpfull staff. The portions were on the generous size and the flavour was just first class. This is a lovely place to visit and ask what the specials are as they are mainly all local food and well worth ordering. This is a great place to eat and is even dog friendly (in the bar) but mainly it is great value for money with tasty food.

Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePHTArran, Owner at The Pierhead Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We had an evening meal here, which was nice, but unfortunately it was cold, otherwise the service was very good, & the staff were very pleasant, I thought it was quite expensive for what you got, basic pub food.

Thank rosemaryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePHTArran, Owner at The Pierhead Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

I am so sorry that you did not have a positive experience in our restaurant. Our prices are broad from affordable pub food to the more expensive bistro specials. You chose the spaghetti dish from our specials board which was therefore one of our higher priced meals. When you told the waitress that the meal wasn't as hot as you liked she offered to replace it however you declined. We did our upmost to cater for your needs however we are sorry it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Very friendly staff and lovely food. I had the pork belly with chilli black pudding and my husband the fish and chips. Both were excellent. Good choice of . Would definitely go back. They also allow dogs and made a fuss of our wee spaniel

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GKW1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePHTArran, Owner at The Pierhead Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

thank you for a lovely review and hope to see you and your lovely wee spaniel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pierhead Tavern also viewed

Lamlash, Isle of Arran
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
 
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to The Pierhead Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing