We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
376
36
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
376
36
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub woodpecker lodge duck pond decking area maple cottage working farm underfloor heating copper beech douglas fir farm animals stunning views lovely lodge mountain ash st andrews high standard fantastic break self catering
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Cannich Cottage for 4 nights. 4 adults, a toddler and 2 dogs. The farm is really easy to locate.
The cottage itself was exceptionally presentable and clean throughout. There are added touches for the dogs which is lovely and a lovely spacious, enclosed garden too! Kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed. Beds were super comfy.

There’s a good few routes for walking. My little one loved seeing all the farm animals and feeding the goats! Also great location as just a short drive to some good attractions.

Would definitely stay here again☺️

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cherylsM4558LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene Mackenzie-Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review lovely to hear you enjoyed your time in Cannich Cottage. We hope you enjoyed seeing our brand new baby goats and it sounds as though you got to explore the area too. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

2nd stay at Balmeadowside in the Hedgehog lodge and couldn’t have been happier with the service again. I had added on a birthday package for us staying and the lodge was decorated lovely.

The lodge was perfectly clean, with some essentials for your first night or two. Private hot tub at the back and an amazing view from your balcony at the front. Plenty of information in the welcome book regarding walks, restaurants/take aways and shops.

Loads to do on site and round about, with very helpful staff. Couldn’t recommend enough and can’t wait to come back.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jbellfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene Mackenzie-Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it's great to hear you're back for your second stay and you enjoyed it just as much as the first time. Sounds as though you made the most of the surrounding area and we hope you had a lovely birthday! We look forward to welcoming you back again for your 3rd visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Just returned from our second stay in Hare Lodge at Balmeadowside and, for absolute certain, it won't be our last.

Been a couple of years since our previous visit to the same lodge, but it was still in such immaculate condition you'd be forgiven for thinking nobody had been in it since.

It's spotless and very comfortable, perfectly spacious enough for a short, relaxing stay.

The Hot Tub too is a fantastic addition and saw plenty of use in our trip.

All in all we don't have a single gripe to raise, and already looking forward to planning our next trip.

Room tip: Lots to choose from but you really won't go wrong at Hare Lodge.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aCrankyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene Mackenzie-Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed yet another stay at Balmeadowside it is lovely to hear that the place had not changed since you last saw it! We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

Spent a week with family at Cannich Cottage. We usually choose the log cabins while staying here but thought we'd sample the cottage for a change.
Brilliant lay out of the cottage with a very high end finish. The decor and furnishings are of a very high standard.
Made brilliant memories relaxing in the evenings with the family while sipping on a glass of wine enjoying the heat from the log burner.
The hot tub is always a bonus too.
Keep up the good work guys.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tablejockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene Mackenzie-Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balmeadowside and it sounds like a very relaxing stay was had! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020

Booked the Hare lodge for 2 nights, it was absolutely stunning. Very roomy for 2 people, fully equipped with everything you need, bed very comfortable and the lodge was finished to a very high spec. The site was well kept, spotlessly clean and the scenery was stunning. Hot tub was the main attraction, perfect temperature and totally secluded and private. Highly recommend and we hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lricketts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athene Mackenzie-Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Balmeadowside and loved staying in Hare Lodge! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews