We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
30
1
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
1
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskerry and andycovered poolsun loungersother guestshot tubnaturistsaunanakedbelltentsvenueluxuryhostsfacilitiessitecamping
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We chose this resort not because we are naturists but because we do like being able to have saunas, jacuzzis and swim without soggy bathing gear. The whole place has been recently updated to a very high standard. The sauna in particular is beautiful - large, hot (of course) with a large window at the end looking out over the countryside.
It snowed heavily while we were there so there wasn't much sunbathing in the extensive grounds but we did sit in the jacuzzi as the snow fell.
We were looked after very well by Andy and Kerry who were very friendly and attentive.
The breakfast room / dining room is a huge light conservatory with underfloor heating and a log burner in the corner - just a really nice place to be. As walkers we were able to walk out directly along footpaths and brideways across National Trust heaths and forests without taking the car which was a big bonus. There's a great pub (The Old Inn) a few miles walk away where we went for an excellent Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We wanted a quiet camp site where we could relax for a few days and use as a base for walks in the Purbecks. Rather than go to one of the other busier family campsites (it was school holidays and Rivendell is no kids) we thought we'd chance Rivendell as it was easy to get to Poole, Bournemouth, the Sandbanks, Salisbury, Kimmeridge Bay, Tyneham and so on... We wanted to be able to sit around a camp fire in the evenings and unwind as well.
Now; we are not naturalists...we had never considered it, so we had no thoughts about whether or not we were going to strip off, but while we were there it was so relaxed we thought why not. It was very liberating...and we were even lucky to have some hours of sunshine in what was a pretty cold week-end. If fact we had to borrow a big furry fleece from Andy which was very welcome overnight.
The camping arrangements are great, and we liked the privacy we had away from the main buildings. There's a communal fridge so we cooked our own eggs and bacon for breakfast.
There are several acres of around the site, some landscaped and some pleasantly untouched, open and some wooded.
The pool is simple (covered or open sides) and was warm and inviting, as was the adjacent Jacuzzi. There's a bar and lots of loungers and tables outside. There's a day room where breakfast and meals are available. We didn't eat or drink here but it all looked good and the prices were realistic. The shower and loo areas are super clean with private locker facilities.
Overall, Andy and Kerry were lovely and made us feel really welcome. All the other guests at the resort were warm and friendly too. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask Andy or Kerry to advise you
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LO_and_LO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We stayed Rivendell recently and had a wonderful time. The place was immaculate and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The only downside was sporadic room servicing in the B&B but next time we stay, we'll try one of the amazing luxury tents.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Well what can I say, this was such a find and what a hidden gem it is!
Rivendell is absolutely stunning!

We were greeted by Kerry and Andy who instantly made us feel so welcomed and I have to say, for 3 girls checking in to a clothing optional resort, we instantly felt comfortable and we booked into one of the safari tent for 2 nights which was absolutely beautiful and can highly recommend.

The whole resort is immaculate and we were quite happy to engage in some topless swimming and jacuzzi's.

We had dinner and wine on the outside terrace and even had some toasted marshmallows over the fire pit - its not difficult to love this place.

Food by the way is all cooked fresh and is amazing- we should know as we had breakfast, lunch and dinner!

We can't wait to return and shall be checking in again very soon

Thank you for a lovely break and looking after us.

Immy, Jo and Jane

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank ImmyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We have had a fantastic time at Rivendell. The pool and jacuzzi lovely and warm. Showers spotless. The managers are warm and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Food and service exeptional. I would definitely recommend to try it. Even though it's clothing optional we didn't feel uncomfortable. We can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews