We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,600)
Filter reviews
3,600 results
Traveller rating
1,605
1,058
482
226
229
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,605
1,058
482
226
229
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmash and barrelsouth beach cafeburger kingon sitepapa johnsprestige caravanswimming poolentertainment complexfun starsthe main complexsports barfiring rangespar shopcrazy golfall agesfish and chip shopaerial adventure
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 3,600 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We arrived on Saturday 26th June. We have tried to eat onsite at the pub several times, but each time was unable to get a table. Queuing for a drink is a half hour wait and the wait for food has been an hour and a half. Each time we’ve been to the shop there’s been a long queue snaking around the aisles and every area is short staffed. The arcade is crammed with people, the seating is always taken. My husband is disabled and people are shoving/pushing their way past him. We are leaving early. Haven have packed this site to full capacity and the few staff are severely overstretched- they informed us they were earning minimum wage and that this week Haven have accrued huge takings. Its sheer greed- the caravans are crammed on and the profit this week must be over a million pounds. Terrible. We are going home.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Harcourtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_Cliffs_Exmouth, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to leaver us your thoughts following your stay with us although it is of course disappointing to receive such a negative review. We are a really popular holiday resort and as such our restaurants can get a little busy at peak times with holidaymakers just like yourselves, all looking to chase away the stress by leaving the cook (and the washing up!) to us whilst they're with us. I'm sure if you'd asked any of the restaurant team they would have been happy to recommend a quieter time for you o enjoy your meal.

Whilst the onsite shop is always a convenient place for people to stock up on holiday essentials, there are 5 tills in this shop which does help the queue disappear down quickly.

Haven offer a huge range of staff benefits such as discounts on holidays, complimentary local bus travel, discounts in our shops and restaurants as well as discounts with high street retailers, the bill for which is picked up by Haven and is why many of our team return to us year after year.

There's no excuse for some of our other guests pushing past your husband and whilst occasions such as this are thankfully extremely rare I'm sure any of our security team would have been happy to have a quiet talk with anyone doing this. It may have been a case of over-excited children rushing about as they tend to but any of our team would have been happy to ask them to be mindful of those around them.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to get to see you again soon at Haven during our quieter off peak period.

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Check in was easy even though the site was busy staff friendly and helpful, caravan very clean, site felt secure. Plenty of places to choose to eat and we found the fish and chips exceptionally good. Wifi in the lounge was good. A large slightly hilly site with access to a great beach

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_Cliffs_Exmouth, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review of Devon Cliffs, it's great you sound us so safe and secure and enjoyed all the facilities which the Park has to offer and we're certainly never too busy to stop for a chat or to help!

Thanks again and we'd love to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Until the last day we had a fantastic holiday.
Great inside pool. It was clean and a nice choice of slides and equipment for all ages.
The caravans can be a bit of a walk away(especially after a long, busy day) but find the right path or cut throughs and it makes it a bit easier!
Beach is lovely and so nice to have one on site. Beach shop had queues around the shop so could do with extra staff when it's that busy(half term)
We stayed in a private caravan which was really good. Clean, comfortable, not far from entertainment and had a few extra comforts.
Only quibble was the outside pool. We set up on our last day with everything we would need for a day at the pool only to be shouted at 12.45 that everyone had to get out of the pools and leave. No explanation or warning. On asking we were told the pools close for just over an hour for lunch(peak season, sun blazing and they shut the pools?!) It was to cover lifeguard breaks instead of staggering them. We were rushed to get clothes on and gather our things to then have to hang around half wet for an hour. 2 of the life guards were pretty poor in handling the situation, you could tell they just wanted everyone to leave.
So yes I would deffianly recommend Devon cliffs but beware of the outdoor pool shutting at a moment's notice! Lesson learned.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank kad575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_Cliffs_Exmouth, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the 4 star review of your holiday with us here at Devon Cliffs, it's great to read that you were able to take full advantage of the fantastic weather we've had down here in Devon!

Sorry to learn of the hassle that the one hour pool closure caused you; as the pools are such popular facilities we do find it best to allow for a one hour water recovery time over lunchtime to ensure that the highest standards of water hygiene are maintained.

Despite this, I'm so pleased that you overall had such a great time and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

After reading reviews of Devon Cliffs, I was surprised at how many people didn't leave the site when there is so much to see and do this part of Devon. Having just returned from our break, I now understand why! The park is huge and there is plenty to keep children of all ages well entertained. The beach was lovely and all the facilities including the pool, were well maintained. Our deluxe caravan was more basic than I had imaged, a dish washer, table lamp in the living area and side lights in the bedroom would have been useful, simple additions, but it certainly had all we needed for our stay and was clean and comfortable.

The only complaint about our accommodation would be litter and cigarette ends that had been discarded outside the door to the caravan which given the amount of them, did not appear to be in the cleaner's brief to remove. A further grumble would be in relation to the service at the South Beach Cafe Restaurant which wasn't up to much with nobody taking responsibility to show us a table despite the sign asking customers to wait to be seated, queuing at the bar rather than offering table service, dirty plates left attracting seagulls and a general lack of attentiveness. Despite this, it's a great location to eat and nicely furnished.

Local shops are in easy reach for those who wish to self cater and the onsite shop has plenty of choice if you don't mind paying for the convenience. We would happily return to the site again although do have the advantage of being able to stay outside of the school holiday period when prices are much cheaper.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Beenonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_Cliffs_Exmouth, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Devon Cliffs, I always think the mark of how well we're doing is how many of our guests would return and it's great to see that you'd come back to see us.

We do have a small army of grounds staff who work tirelessly to keep us looking our best and it's always a real shame when a small minority choose not to respect their hard work however they will always pop back should they need to.

I'll definitely pass on your concerns surrounding service at the South Beach Cafe and thank you for taking the time to highlight this to us.

Despite a couple of issues, it's fantastic to see that you're looking to return to us and hopefully you'll be able to award us 5 stars on your next trip!

Thanks again,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Lovely stay at this caravan park lovely walk into exmouth from the camp takes about an hour but well worth doing can also get a bus back right into the camp plenty of entertainment for the children and a nice beach area

Room Tip: Stayed in a caravan very good several types to chose from
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank midnight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon_Cliffs_Exmouth, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review of not only Devon Cliffs but also the local area, there's plenty going on for all ages and I know what you mean about the number 95 bus, it's so handy to be able to walk into town and then catch the bus back to save little legs!

Thank you again and we'd love to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews