We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish & Chips”
Review of The Black & White

The Black & White
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We had 3 Haddock & Chips & 1 Cod & Chips. Really good, lovely light crispy batter & Fab chips . We would definitely go there again

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank A2163HTjoanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

We have been back here twice & the fish & chips are amazing!! Portions are big, batter light & crisp & perfect chips! Highly recommend - we ate ours whilst watching the sun go down on the beach - perfect.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank lynns407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Not bad at all.
Good potatoes and fresh fish, well cooked.
Three of us ate and three were pleased enough.
An accommodating, efficient service, would definitely go again when in the area.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank MsPurbrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Be prepared to wait on Saturday evening but it is definitely worth it. All our food was prepared fresh, haddock was delicious, my wife and mother-in-law had burgers which were also lovely. The chips were also fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank pjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Visited for a takeaway while staying nearby on holiday. As for the food, it was average, but what stood out more was an overheard conversation between a worker and a local customer. The conversation was in relation to the start of half term and how all the tourists were flooding the area again, but said in a negative way. So, after months of lockdown, apparently this business isn’t interested in a busy summer for tourism and would prefer to just serve its locals? Fair enough if that’s how they feel, but maybe check there aren’t any tourist customers that can overhear you first. Didn’t feel welcome to visit again for the rest of the holiday unfortunately.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black & White also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Black & White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.