We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveller rating
654
292
133
54
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
654
292
133
54
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark price casita lodge holiday park next year dawlish warren blue coats crazy golf on site entertainment team sweet shop swimming pool family holiday kids club year after year train station evening entertainment reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

What a wonderfully ran holiday park.
We had a lovely break away at Welcome Family.
We stayed in a lodge which was absolutely spotless.
Park was clean and tidy.
Staff all friendly and welcoming.
COVID rules abided by.
Close to beach and little shops.
Restaurants nearby.
Was lovely to see the steam train pass by at the far end of the park.
Great pool and fabulous entertainment in the evening.
All in all a great break away.
We will be back!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Baker, Marketing at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review - we always love to hear that our guests have had a fabulous holiday with us and we really appreciate your comments! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Welcome over May half term as a birthday present for my son who turned 8 and what a fantastic time we had (5 people) . This is my sons 8th visit to the park and has never been disappointed. We usually book for October so was lovely to see the difference by going in May. The weather was gorgeous all week, managed a beach day which was lovely. The caravan was amazing and the grounds are lovely as always, a lot of work goes into maintaining the grounds. We had a red card so went into the club every other night. The nights we didn't go in we explored the area and found some little hidden treasures we hadn't seen before. We waited about 30 minutes to get into the pool and had an hour in there to make it fair for everyone, which I found was just long enough. Mark Price and the show team were fantastic like always, best show team I think they've had. Staff very polite and very helpful. Cannot wait for our two week holiday in October!
Thankyou

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karla19902013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Baker, Marketing at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review - it sounds like you and your family really made the most of your stay with us! We're really pleased you got to see the park at a different time of year - spring is one of our favourite seasons especially as all the grounds start to come to life! We're delighted you all had such a wonderful time and we look forward to seeing you again for TWO weeks in October! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Stayed here with my family for half term. We were NOT disappointed. We had a great time. The park is kept clean and tidy. The caravans are comfortable.
The staff really make it! They were always smiling, happy and helpful. The show team were really entertaining. They are the best show team I’ve ever seen at a holiday park. The crazy golf and Tropicana pool are great too! My kids loved it all and we definitely make special memories we will treasure forever. Definitely going back for sure!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Baker, Marketing at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Wow thank you so much!! We love to hear how much our families have enjoyed staying with us - it really puts an extra big smile on our faces! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at Welcome Family Holiday Park. We come every year (Covid permitting) and normally stay the lodge accommodation. The lodge was very clean and up to date and seemed bigger than previous years? It had certainly been updated from previous years.

We was holidaying on a budget so cooked in the caravan, which we normally avoid. The oven was good and didn't take an age to cook as we have had on other sites and caravans. The shower and bath stayed hot, again an improvement on other experiences.

The weather was hit and miss but we walked to Dawlish Town along the coast that is beautiful scenery and went in the sea on a cold day! Went to see the show at the club twice, that was fantastic entertainment as always.

So still made the most of it and had a lovely stay.

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank P7692OCjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Baker, Marketing at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Ahh thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us!

Our teams work super hard to make sure everything is tip top for our guests helping them to have the best holiday possible so it's great for us to hear that you had such a fab time!

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

AVOID unit 412. been coming for years (8+ for us and 30+ for parents), however fear this will now be our last. the park is being run into ruin. this year we were given their "top line" lodge due to a previous year where the steps collapsed spraining and ankle after a bodge repair. this was in an effort to stop being taken further. as a family site we agreed as a one off maintenance issue. this year however......

mould in the showers

dirty bath

plug rammed down sink pipe unable to use

broken lights

rotten door

light fixtures falling out of ceiling

collapsed sofa and chairs (central bar broken)

a patio chair that broke on first use (apparently this isn't their issue! as they were short staffed, neither would complete accident form)

broken fridge draws

bath handle loose and falling off (safety issue for elderly in our party)

external patio bending and bowing (so much you can get a foot trapped)

bent steps leading to patio

extractor fan in bathroom broken

WiFi at 0.4mbps

Broken double glazing units

Random unpleasant white marks on master door

Unpleasant housekeeping manager

Personal view is beds are horrible here, however others may find them fine. But sag and bow. Ours was functional but parents the central support bar was snapped.

It just all adds up to looking poorly kept and tired. Ready for replacement.

it is unfortunately now so bad we are going to be leaving early as we cannot sleep in the beds, or even nap on the sofa or chairs as too uncomfortable. we have stayed in loads of sites and you never expect to be as comfy as at home; however this is a case of going to bed at 11 & up at 4am as too uncomfortable. SOME (not all) staff are quite rude now, too which we never had an issue.
it's such a shame as used to be a lovely site, but years of non investment have taken their toll. time to find somewhere new I fear.
From the FB review the housekeeping manager and I believe site manager? Visited. Site was helpful and listening etc however the housekeeping manager was trying to start a verbal fight to gain a moral high ground. (to which she failed, as I work with the public as well) I feel this is highly unprofessional, however it was just the one the other was ok. They returned a total of three times; before being asked not to return so we could spend the last hours before we left a day early!
They wanted to come in and complete all the repairs at this point. However due to covid, being our holiday & leaving in a few hours I refused. In my opinion if your happy to rent and sign off a unit as fit for use it should of been checked. Other then spraying ALLOT of air freshener I don't believe the unit has been touched. On top of this this is the only site that doesn't provide a hoover, only a roller. This leaves for a very dirty caravan/lodge with day to day life.
On FB the asked us to contact them again, however how can you rectify a ruined week?

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank P2977QZthomasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy Baker, Marketing at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review.

We fear however that this is riddled with inaccuracies and does not tally with the accounts of senior managers.

Your opinions are subjective and not supported by the accounts of other guests.

We are exceptionally disappointed that after so many years of being our guests you have felt it is acceptable to take this course of action. Only one of your issues was reported to us during your stay and this gave us no opportunity to investigate before you made this review.

We hope that you manage to find another place to holiday that meets all your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews