We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
1,367
158
62
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,367
158
62
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael caines tasting menu special occasion master room le manoir new chef eggs benedict hole putting course croquet lawn worth every penny petit fours attention to detail dining experience impeccable service very special place the general manager michelin star
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2021

Simply stunning location, its like staying at a fabulously wealthy relatives country estate, the service headed up by Simon is professional whilst also being friendly.

The hotel is situated in an outstanding area of Dartmoor and has a lovely brook running through the grounds. One slight downside is getting there as the hotel was accessed via what is a single track country lane for around two miles from the main road, so presents an issue if you meet someone coming the other way. Once your there though is really is beautiful.

Our room was a large room on the first floor, with stunning views to the front gardens, brook and surrounding countryside. Its certainly worth paying attention to room type as some would have had uninspiring views to the rear of the hotel and rooms on the upper floor had very limited views.

The room we had was large and looked like the whole hotel had bene updated with a stunning mix of traditional alongside some modern touches. The bathroom and fitments were first class.

The food both dinner and breakfast were faultless, the dinner was some of the best food I've tasted and the chef and his team really do deserve a special mention. Think it wont be long before they get a Michelin star.

Overall really recommend Gidleigh Park but we were very disappointed when we visited Buckland Manor which is part of the same group. Five star all day for Gidleigh Park but 1 star for Buckland Manor (steer clear), not sure how two hotels in the same group can be so far apart in what they offer.

Room tip: Rooms on the first floor at front of hotel offer best views
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PracticeAloha9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

We only stayed for one night en route to Cornwall, but the hotel is fabulous. Unfortunately we couldn't eat in the restaurant as he had our dog with us so we ate in bar and had the bar menu. Breakfast was amazing.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CatReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

The restaurant provided the same Ala Carte menu for our 4 nights stay. For a 5 Star rating hotel I would expected more variety each evening, instead of same four options for starter, main and desert. I have experienced better menus at 4 star hotels. The wine selection is vast and excellent. The location and scenery are outstanding, but the roads to the hotel are very narrow. The Master Room had plenty of room, with a decent shower and big sized bath, and was very clean.
There was a function on Tuesday evening and it would appear Restaurant struggled to cook meals for guests. The Lamb dish was predominantly fat, and small part that was Lamb was undercooked. This was duly sent back only to find beef replacement was cook too fast so was overcooked and was chewy and tough to cut so was duly left on the plate. The service and politeness of the staff was excellent. There was an upper floor above our room, and person had elephant feet so sleep quality was not the best at night and in the morning.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThomasSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021

An outstanding hotel which knows exatly how to pamper their guests. Food is exceptional and staff charming and very attentive. Wonderful location. Utterly peaceful. However good driving skills needed to get there and deep pockets once there.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rovi2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

We were at Gidleigh Park to celebrate my Mother's 70th Birthday and we were not disappointed. The welcome was warm and professional. The hotel is well kept and very luxurious. Every attention to detail is made to ensure that you are relaxed and taken care of. The team are professional but not stand-off-ish and always on hand if needed. The food is wonderful and beautiful to look at. Very seasonal and delicious. One of us had the Vegan menu and it didn't disappoint. The grounds are so well kept you feel like you are in another world and miles away from the real world!. We stayed overnight in one of the smallest rooms which had a fabulous bathroom with large walk-in shower. Lovely in room extras and very clean. I highly recommend a visit, even if it's just for afternoon tea!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BackPacker645717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews