We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal”

Shoals Cafe On The Lido
Ranked #4 of 114 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$46
Description: Shoals is predominantly a seafood restaurant but also caters for vegetarians and meat lovers too We offer freshly cooked local crab sandwiches,line grown Brixham mussels,dayboat scallops and much more from our daily fish auction
Restaurant details
Description: Shoals is predominantly a seafood restaurant but also caters for vegetarians and meat lovers too We offer freshly cooked local crab sandwiches,line grown Brixham mussels,dayboat scallops and much more from our daily fish auction
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are on holiday and wanted somewhere to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Having looked through reviews of restaurants in the area we chose Shoals. Shoals is only small which we knew and why we booked to make sure we got a table. We shouldn't have worried. With England playing football we had the restaurant almost to ourselves. The food was excellent salt and pepper calamari and homemade mackerel pate to start followed by fillet of sea bass. The view over the bay was wonderful and the staff were very friendly and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

2  Thank Kloot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely restaurant in a stunning location. We had a lovely late lunch here, the food was excellent, the service was polite and efficient. The moules were one of the best I've tasted, don't know which herb they added but it was lovely. My wife had the Dover Sole - absolutely delicious! I would definitely recommend Shoals if you like high quality seafood. Just a point - when you serve a glass of water - please add ice or at least make sure it's cold - it costs nothing compared to the rest of the meal and makes such a difference. - quality is in the detail!!

Thank Unox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an excellent lunch here today, catch of the day was haddock which one of us said was some of the best fish ever tasted, the other had melt in the mouth skate wing. The location is stunning, we were there in fab weather, so very impressed. It's an informal place with pleasant young staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulandmaz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoals2015, Public Relations Manager at Shoals Cafe On The Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards Maisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this cafe this morning at 11am, breakfast served till 11.30am, took a menu outside, then went in to order to be told that no more food was being served until 12pm!! Excuse was that they had been busy! And their delivery had arrived! Left as quick as we arrived! Don't advertise breakfast till a certain time then refuse customers! Went to Berry Head hotel instead!

Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoals2015, Owner at Shoals Cafe On The Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Bonnet de douch Stefanie
Firstly we are are very pleased you visited the berry head it is my favourite place in the bay to visit at anytime of the year
Breakfast served 9-11am don’t be late bonjour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a longish walk from Brixham port, but the weather was fine so the exercise was good. The views over Tor Bay were stunning, especially as the sun began to go down. The cafe is small, but the kitchen, in open view, was working flat out. Our fish courses were absolutely delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda_Daman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoals2015, Public Relations Manager at Shoals Cafe On The Lido, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Lynda for taking the time to give this lovely review
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Shoals and we hope to see you again
Kindest regards Bess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoals Cafe On The Lido also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Shoals Cafe On The Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing