We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.comUS$122
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
891
133
22
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
891
133
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room saints bay his team excellent restaurant the bus st peter port a la carte menu lobster lovely hotel nothing is too much trouble high standard evening meal many thanks third visit first class without exception superb food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2022

We had a lovely stay at La Barbarie Hotel for 6 nights in August, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast and evening meals excellent. Would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends, the only negative is the wifi only seems to work in dinning room.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrew Coleman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2022

Dear Mark1924
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in August and for sharing your lovely comments. My apologies regarding the Wi-Fi, we did have an issue with an access point which has now been rectified. We hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Barbarie again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2022

First visit to Guernsey and couldn’t have chosen better! Room, breakfast, bar area and outside all really good. Three good evening meals. Loved the look of the place (spotlessly clean) and the location. Spoke to several other guests who were on return visits, which I guess tells you everything! Well looked after by all throughout the week.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrew Coleman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear DavidL
Thank you so much for this excellent review following your first visit to Guernsey and thanks for choosing La Barbarie.
Your feedback is important to us, we appreciate all your kind words and we hope that you will make a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

The room was a lovely size, overlooking the pool. Downside, to get to it, up some steps, walk around the front, around the side to the rear of the building, once inside
You had to climb 12 stairs. Lovely once inside, but not good if you have mobility issues.
Staff were great, Breakfast amazing. Dinner overpriced for what you get. Sally was very helpful.

Room tip: Ask for ground floor overlooking pool, with outside patio.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank normata69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrew Coleman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear normata69
Thank you for sharing this review. We are pleased that you liked your poolside deluxe room, for those with mobility issues we do have lovely ground floor rooms. Thank you for your kind comments on our great staff and Sally is one of the stars of the team, as she proved again.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Easy to see why this hotel is number 1 on Tripadvisor. We spent a long weekend and it could not have been more pleasant: very comfortable room, splendid restaurant and first class staff.
A special mention to the hotel "handyman" (I wish I could remember his name but he has a yellow Fiat) who took us to the start of the half marathon at L'Eree and also to the airport on days when there were no taxis available.
A great place to which we will return next year.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrew Coleman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Dear davidgriffiths
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for this excellent review and all your kind comments
I am delighted that Dean our "handy man" was on hand to help you get to the starting line and hopefully you run a PB!
We look forward to seeing you next year by which time we hope there will be more taxi's availability in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2022

We've known this Hotel for 30 odd years, and the recent refurb has removed the old dull red dark interior. The restaurant has had a complete facelift and the standard of food was excellent. The only let down was a risotto which arrived 15 mins after it was ordered - utterly impossible and of course the rice was completely uncooked, and even visibly so. The maitre d of the restaurant really needs to clean his suit, polish his shoes and have a shave, because his scruffiness shows when compared to the clean restaurant and his presentable staff. Speaking of which, the service staff are all very charming and filipino, not that that's a problem, but its a trend I noticed across other hotels that I visited on the island, and something I found quite new since COVID. The sunken pool and the over looking annex wing is the achilles heel of the Hotel - the pool and the so called sun terrace being cast in shadow by 4pm. This unfortunaley makes the car park the best and warmest place for the evening sun. In all, a great Hotel, very clean and very well managed and run, I'll gladly reutn here again and again. As for the Island, much has changed since COVID. Gone is the Auberge restaurant at Jerbourg, with its fantastic views overlooking St Peter Port Bay. Gone too is the Butterfly Farm. The marina was emply of visiting yachts, many shops in town were closed or emply....... and this was on a Saturday afternoon! and many of the top restaurants famed throughout the island from yesteryear were looking tired and dingy.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank monday s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrew Coleman, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2022

Dear Monday S
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for all your comments within. We are grateful for all feedback, and I will of course address your points with the team here so that we can continue to strive to maintain the standards expected of us. I am glad that in the main you found the standards of food and service excellent and that our wonderful restaurant team were charming. We are very proud of them.
Our “Achilles heel” is of course the most popular area of the hotel, from early morning to late afternoon a wonderful spot to sit and enjoy breakfast, morning coffee, lunch or an afternoon tipple on the terrace whilst enjoying the flowers and garden on a sunny day.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews