We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Expedia
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
317
290
91
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
317
290
91
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy roundabout evening entertainment swimming pool town centre towels provided single room family room no lift buffet style bar meals main road full english small gym family holiday friendly hotel porridge plenty of hot water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

Don't stay at this hotel it's so overcharged for £180
Per night
One of my main concerns is lack of maintenance There is no lift at this hotel So when we arrived we had to carry our bags up 3 flight of
stairs
When we got to the top the fire door which was very
had no spring to it as it very broken so this meant the
door made an extremely
loud banging noise Which one's we got into our room
meant all we could hear
was that
So we asked if we could be moved
So we were moved to another room which looks like it's not been decorated since the 90s
You will need earplugs because all you can hear our the other people in their rooms talking and moving around

Room tip: Not stay here not worth the money
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 895frang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy aspects of your stay and that you feel noise from fellow guests and a fire door closing disturbed you. We are a long-standing family business and customer feedback is important to us.

All fire doors and closure mechanisms work as required and are specified in keeping with our Fire Certificate. They are required to shut correctly and hence the firm spring mechanism. Maintenance issues will always arise and will be attended to in an efficient manner.

Regarding lifts, an Otis passenger lift serves our main purpose built six storey northern accommodation wing. A passenger lift is not present in the lower rise smaller southern wing of the hotel where you stayed initially and bedrooms served by a lift may readily be requested at time of booking should this be a concern for future bookers. Should steps be a major concern then our sister Monterey Hotel nearby may be another option. It is fully purpose built and avoids any steps.

Our Norfolk Lodge Hotel is traditional in style and is a larger mid-range AA three Star hotel, maintained to a good standard. We have a long standing directly employed maintenance team and workshops at the Norfolk Lodge.

We hope this response is informative and are pleased that we were able to move you within the hotel during your stay when we became aware of your feelings and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

I cannot complement this hotel enough, yes the decor is dated but the hotel is clean, the food is fantastic and the staff are amazing. They staff could not so enough. Only 20 mins walk into St helier and a great location for traveling around the island. We will defo come back.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NicolaP1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and hotel and we are delighted you would return.

We are a traditional hotel in style and hold a Gold level Investor in People accreditation, along with the top grade 5* Eat Safe food safety award issued by our local Environmental Health Department.

Your comments and custom are appreciated by our team here at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2022

We stayed in a double room from 4-6 June 2022.

Accessibility is a major issue issue in this hotel. It is a rabbit warren of corridors and steps even to get to the lifts. We asked to be moved to another room as the bathroom in the first room had a urine smell. Our second bedroom was slightly better. Both rooms were fusty and something out of the 1960s.

I would not re omens this hotel and we were very happy to leave.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anncW5964GY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

We have reported this review as suspicious to TripAdvisor as we had no guest matching the details given in this review. No guest moved bedrooms over this period as stated by the reviewer nor did any guest raise the issues now raised to seek to move bedrooms.

The Norfolk Lodge Hotel is a traditional and long established AA three Star hotel, well situated for St. Helier. It occupies a large landmark site with a professionally maintained indoor swimming pool complex, a full catering offer, outside terraces, floral displays, large car park, very generous public areas, entertainment on certain nights in season and more besides. We are well staffed and housekeeping is monitored closely by our long established senior team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2022

We have stayed at the Norfolk Lodge twice previously and were happy but sadly this is the last stay there. The staff who we saw in 2018 had all changed.
We travelled within a group through our local tour company, on a HB basis.
As we were leaving the restaurant on our second night one of the staff approached my wife and asked for payment for Sunday and Mondays evening meal saying that we were only on a BB basis. Whilst trying to sort it out I noticed a man walking into the restaurant suited and I asked him if he was the manager to which he replied yes. I asked him to sort this mess out. Whilst he and two other staff were discussing the situation the staff member who first pulled my wife apologised under duress.
I contacted my tour company and told them what had happened to which they replied that they would get in touch with the manager.
There was no apology from the manager even though he bumped into me on three occasions after that.
In the restaurant there are tables set up for guests and are shown to their table after giving your room number. All the tables are set for one two and three diner’s. Strangle after this incident we were seated at a table that is usually set for one diner. Coincident, I don’t think so, even though the manager will say so.

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank SteveJ5491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022


We are sorry for any communication problem regarding correct billing in our restaurant and had not appreciated your strength of feeling on the matter raised.

We remain in the same family ownership since your last visit and many of our team are long-standing but a good number are indeed new following our period of closure over Covid.

Thank you for your return visit and for your feedback. We hope you will consider visiting us again. You would be most welcome here at our Norfolk Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022

Stayed for 5 days last week. The location is close to the centre of St Helier so you can walk into town or to the sea front. It’s just off a busy roundabout so ask ahead of arrival if you need a quiet room as a lot of the rooms face one of the two roads to the front and side. The hotel has a lot of free parking with key code security bollards for extra security.

The hotel is not a standard room/floor layout and has been extended over the years and the lift stops in between floors so if you have cases, you’ll need to get them up a few steps to the lift and then decide to walk down a few steps to your floor, or up a few. The staff are very helpful so ask for help if you have mobility issues.

The stairwell seems to be one of the only solid areas that doesn’t creak so be prepared for creaking floor boards from the room above. The stairs could be cleaner and most days looked like they hadn’t been vacuumed but the rest of the public areas are clean and tidy. Although our room looked tired, housekeeping do a great job and it was very clean. The curtains are also dated and don’t keep out much light so bring an eye mask if you need more darkness. We could hear a lot of noise from next door rooms and the usual inconsideration with some letting doors bang shut so I’d recommended earplugs, too. The toiletries are very nice and gentle on the skin but ladies, take some conditioner as this isn’t provided. There’s also a good selection on the complimentary tea/coffee tray and reception staff are happy to give you extras should you need them.

The breakfast was very good with a good choice of fruit, cereal, cheese, meats, cooked breakfast and pastries - the croissants were very good! There was also a good selection of teas and they provide porridge and dairy free milk on request. The breakfast service was very efficient from the staff although we did find that there was little interaction between dining room staff and guests. The most welcoming is the lady who checks you into the dining room - she’s very smiley, warm and welcoming and also does many things in the dining room very efficiently. At night, Kip who works mainly in the bar area is a total hoot! He is very engaging and has a wicked sense of humour. The bar is well stocked and if Kip doesn’t encourage you to try the local beer, give it a go as it’s good. There was also a nice bar menu available if you’re not on a half-board basis and all the meals we had at night were well priced, of a good standard and very well presented.

The pool is a nice touch but it would have been nicer to have some chairs to relax on. There are chairs and loungers outside the pool building, but on colder days, some inside seats would have been useful, however, I appreciate space is an issue. The poolside changing rooms are very well equipped with a shower, hairdryer etc and towels are available by the reception desk.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Norfolk Lodge and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBeez20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to stay with us again. Thank you for your valued feedback and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews