We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia
US$142
View deal
Hotels.com
US$142
View deal
Official Site
Agoda.comUS$144
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveller rating
1,224
633
254
85
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,224
633
254
85
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar elizabeth castle victoria restaurant tassili restaurant sea view five star hotel small balcony lovely hotel relaxation room sea front steam room first class main restaurant nothing is too much trouble short break hire car walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! This was our 4th stay at The Grand, and it won't be our last! We stayed for 7 days in a lovely room overlooking the park. We'd asked for a balcony, and at first didn't get one, but thank you to Luis and Michelle for arranging our room change after the first day. Our new room was amazing and we loved sitting out on the balcony reading. The room and whole hotel were very clean, very comfortable and we felt very covid secure. Having been double jabbed and having had pcr tests in England we avoided isolating but the hotel was clearly coping well with guests who did have to isolate as they got room service.
Our breakfasts were delicious and the choice was excellent (and their porridge is the best) and it was lovely to see Brenda again who had looked after us so well on our previous stay, she was so helpful.
We ate in the Champagne Bar on 4 nights (and had drinks in the bar each night). I was again so impressed with the customer care, friendliness and the quality of food and drink (very good value for money). My daughter is very picky with food, but loved the pasta, garlic bread and brownie on the children's menu, and I loved the superb range of vegetarian options for adults. Emi was so lovely to us and we had our own table by the end of the week, and thankyou to the Swedish waiter too, apologies that I don't know his name.
And we must also thank Luis for keeping us so entertained and for treating my daughter like a princess!!
After a stressful year, this was the perfect restful holiday,

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shaun McGachan, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear Carrie R,

Wow, what a pleasure it was to read your review and see your feedback. I am truly delighted to see that you and your daughter had such a perfect break with us in Jersey. It sure sounds like you got some quality mother daughter time together and glad we could be part of that for you after such a stressful year.

It is great to see so many staff members receive a personal mention and I know Michelle, Luis, Brenda and Emi will be thrilled to see your review, as will Peter (our Swedish team member).

I too am a fan of the porridge and the team have been working tirelessly at breakfast to provide a great way to start the day so your feedback was appreciated. We have also upped our game on the children's menu so it was great to see the comments that we could satisfy even the pickiest of eaters and glad Emi and Peter made you feel so welcome in the Champagne Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you and your princess back in the future for your 5th stay.

Yours sincerely,

Shaun McGachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

Just back from 4 days staying at this lovely hotel. We asked for sea views and so we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor with its own balcony. Lovely sunny room and very comfortable bed. Loved the Dyson fan in the room to keep cool at night. There was air conditioning but I preferred the fan as it was quiet and it helped me sleep as i get so hot. The hotel is about 20 mins walk from the town centre but there is a free shuttle bus into town offered by the hotel. The Hotel was very covid safe and there was always sanitiser for easy use in all the public areas. Staff and residents wore masks while walking around the hotel. The indoor pools were fabulous and there is a lovely outdoor seating area next to the indoor pools when its sunny. Food was good and it was pleasant to sit on the terrace and have a drink in the evenings as the sun went down. Would most definetly return! and the weather was good too

Room tip: choose one on the 2nd floor to get a view of the sea/harbour
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lstobitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shaun McGachan, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Dear bisibi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our page.

Unfortunately, I believe you may have mistaken us for another property in Jersey. Regrettably, none of our sea facing bedrooms on the second floor have balconies and our indoor pool does not have an outside area to relax in. It could be our sister property L'Horizon Beach Hotel & Spa you describe, although they are further away than a 20 minute walk to town.

Should you wish to enjoy a stay with us at Grand Jersey in the future, please feel free to get in touch with me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Shaun McGachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

ok well first off we chose this hotel this time purely for the view and the option of in house dining and previous good reviews, we spent several hours trying to make this a special trip as it was our anniversary, no intentions of touring the island , been there done that 3 times , so just a few nights away, our time, like everyone its been tough but our work has been manic, so we chose the hotel above 2 others we would have stayed at purely for what it offered for this trip.

we arrived at the hotel and didn't see the reception tucked behind a few pillars , didn't see any sign that said that either, but we found it, check in was quick and smooth considering the current situation, we were informed that our room was a sea room as requested and we were not disappointed (305) , it was just a normal room no wow factor but it was clean, tidy and amply furnished, bathroom is a bit dated, white stacked wall tiles, over bath shower, w.c wash hand basin with hot water ta so hot it would scald your hands, (there is a little warning sign, hot water) but that water is abnormally hot , other than that it was just OK.

as it was our anniversary the hotel had left us a nice bottle on prosecco and some truffes which was very nice surprise.

the view was also nice , beach and castle all in view.

staff , absolutely first class , polite, courteous and helpful, they worked hard under difficult circumstances, cant fault the staff.

food , excellent , breakfast choice, good , hot and fresh, plenty of cold meats, cheeses, cakes, drinks, and again service second to nine.

terrace bar , service good, quick and clean, food again excellent.

now the thing that really ruined the whole thing was the restaurant booking let down, we had booked a table in Victoria's as a anniversary date, and this to me is a big night out , it was booked weeks ago and one of the reason we chose the hotel for somewhere a little bit quieter and refined, we arrived downstairs to be told the restaurant was closed but we had been reserved a table in the champagne lounge.

we were seated at a table that would not have looked out of place in a certain pub chain public bar, the menu was presented to us, the same on that they have been serving up on the terrace for the last few days, yep Burgers, pizzas and PUB GRUB, matched the table i guess.

not the romantic meal for 2 we had planned, not the menu i would choose to eat as a night out with my wife, sorry sorry sorry massive big let down, the server did say there was a few specials on that nigh , soup as a starter, lamb shank, sirloin steak , and a chateaubriand . trying to salvage something , instead of making a scene we ordered the chateaubriand, opps the top cut of fillet steak gets served up with fat chip shop chips, fried tomatoes, mushrooms and onion rings SERIUOSLY felt like stuffing the whole dish down the so called master chefs throat, thins he came for than famous cheap beer pub chains master class of cooking.

i enquired as to why the restaurant was closed and was told that it was because of staff isolation, i assumed it had happened on that day, it would appear not, it was closed the night before and the next few nights we were there, we were given a complementary cocktail, i asked why we were not informed the restaurants were both closed and we could have made alternative dining arrangements, we were told they had tried to let as many people as possible know, i now know others had booked days prior and not been told.

so it was a case of tell then last minute, too late to look else were stuck with poor offerings, as for the champagne lounge that is about as exciting and the circle line in London at 2 am on a Sunday morning, dead and heartless.

so no the GRAND let us down big time, they could have informed us the restaurant was closed, they ruined our anniversary evening, they served up the worst meal i have even eating on a night out, just not good enough , sorry Grand we will never be back, and certainly could not recommend you based on that one selfish act to keep us in your restaurant purely to take our money.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burgermaster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shaun McGachan, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear burgermaster007,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review following your recent anniversary stay with us.

I was glad to see you appreciated the gesture in recognition of your special occasion as well as a further upgrade of your room type into a Deluxe Ocean View Double. We really do appreciate your comments on the team as I firmly believe they are the greatest part of the hotel and comments like yours reaffirm this for me. The Food & Beverage Team have been working hard on the offering in the outlets following some challenging weeks so it was great to read your feedback on your breakfast and Terrace experiences.

As you allude to, a number of the team were contacted by Track and Trace to isolate as a precaution and as such I made a decision to consolidate our operations. Whilst disappointing for you, this difficult decision was made with the best intentions. With the shortage of team members available, it would not have been possible to provide the levels of service expected in all areas and would have placed our remaining team members in an overwhelming situation.

As part of the consolidation of operations, we took our best selling items from across the outlets as well as offered additional choices as you mention. We did try to reach as many of our guests as possible to inform of this prior to arrival and it is regrettable we were unable to reach you.

Following your dinner, I know you spoke with our Duty Manager Steve who acknowledged your disappointment on such a special occasion and explained the reasons behind it. From your conversations, Steve does recall that you mentioned you enjoyed your meal albeit not what you had planned and as a goodwill gesture offered a round of cocktails for you which you accepted. So it came as a bit of a surprise to then see you mention in this review that this was the worst meal you have eaten on a night out when the feedback provided at the time was the opposite.

Whilst it is clear you were disappointed with this aspect of your stay, some of the comments being made could be interpreted as disrespectful and inappropriate when the majority of your experience met your expectations. Whilst it is clear you will not be returning to the Grand, I do hope on your next visit to Jersey you have a more enjoyable experience in all areas.

Yours sincerely,

Shaun McGachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2021

My husband and I always stay at this lovely Hotel, we love it because you cannot fault the service from all the staff, it's what I would call old fashioned service, all the staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble, we have made many friends with the staff over the years, which is why we return every year. This year we returned with a bit of sadness as we really missed our friend Hugo, who always looked after us on our visits. The rooms are lovely and well serviced, which must be very difficult in the challenging times they have been through over the last eighteen months or so. There is always a very good choice of menu for breakfast and the bar food is excellent as are the cocktails. This time I was unable to get to use the spa, as it's so popular, so I must remember to book in advance next time, for the hot stone massage, which is just so lovely.

I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel, it has lovely view of Elizabeth Castle and it's just a few minutes walk into the main town for shopping etc.. plus you have the beach right in front of the Hotel. For us it has everything we need and it's such a nice relaxing place to stay.

Room tip: We like a sea view, although you have to be aware that it faces the main road. Side and garden quieter.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shaun McGachan, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear loopylyn,

Thank you for such a great review and glad you had another enjoyable stay. You and Ken really are part of our extended family and we love having you in the hotel. We too miss Hugo every day but we are working on something to remember him by and I am sure you will love it as well.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon and don't forget to book that massage.

Best regards,

Shaun McGachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

We have just stayed here for a weeks holiday and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Great position on the sea front with bus routes outside. Lovely breakfast with a great choice

Room tip: Best views at the front but nearer the traffic
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U1207DWkeithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shaun McGachan, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Dear U1207DWkeithe,

Thank you for your review following a week long stay with us.

The team are our greatest asset and it was great to see they couldn't do enough for you. We are so fortunate with our central location and have amazing views of Elizabeth Castle and of course the beach and great to see this get a mention too.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy some more great breakfasts too.

Yours sincerely,

Shaun McGachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews