We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$148
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Official Site
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveller rating
1,224
633
254
85
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,224
633
254
85
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar elizabeth castle victoria restaurant tassili restaurant sea view five star hotel small balcony lovely hotel relaxation room sea front steam room first class main restaurant nothing is too much trouble short break hire car walk in shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2019

After booking a room with sea view we got upgraded to a fantastic suite.The third member of our party had a single room and although well equipped was pretty small. Staff were friendly throughout. This hotel is situated on esplanade but at a busy road intersection, so there is road noise both in rooms and when on sun terrace. Not much they can do about that, and you have to balance that against it's good position for access to amenities, town centre, beach etc.
We have three issues with this hotel 1). The free car parking is extremely limited and they need to point that out in their marketing, you cannot always get into car park. 2) Our experience of service at Breakfast was not good. Tea /coffee did not arrive after order, dishes not cleared between courses, items on Buffet was not always replenished without asking, even bread for toast ran out. Same on hot buffet, there was mostly something that had run out, mostly fried eggs, and egg chef was rude on one occasion saying when I ordered two fried eggs 'you will just have to wait' . This was in complete contrast to evening dining when service and food was excellent.
3) The guest lounge area has been reduced at some stage ( to accommodate the high end Tossili dining area) so now it's very limited with pretty awful seating, and in mornings you could not go sit in Lounge Bar area where there is lovely seating as it was always locked. Good job we had our suite upgrade so we could go there to read the morning papers.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Wynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Talana W, Deputy General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded suite and that you found the team friendly throughout. Thank you for your constructive feedback, it has been noted and we will address your concerns where possible. Thank you again for the valued feedback, it has been most useful in assessing what we offer.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2019

We were very disappointed by our stay.

This hotel says that it is 5 star, but the reality is more akin to a 3 star slightly run down business hotel.

This would be fine if advertised and priced as such, but they bill themselves as a luxury retreat. They are claiming 5* luxury retreat and delivering a far different experience. As such, I write this so you know what you are booking.

Headlines; mediocre at best service, shabby/ run down decor and average food (breakfast). Pluses: Luciano the Porter/ the porters in general were incredibly friendly and helpful and the Tassili restaurant is nice (Nicholas the Sommelier was great).

The doormen were very friendly and accommodating, however reception were unhelpful and stand-offish. She made no effort whatsoever to assist us with anything but the bare basics (taking payment details) and offered no information about the local area at all.

The communal facilities are around 5 years over-due a refurbishment. They have announced they are re-doing some small parts of the site, but in reality the whole hotel needs a major refurbishment before it can claim 5*. Examples include:

- The room was around the same level as a £90 room in a 3* hotel. Clean and fine, but certainly not the 5* experience they claim. Basic bathroom with cheap (self branded to try and hide this) toiletries, low quality tea/ coffee facilities (kettle and Nescafé sachets) and a relatively uncomfortable bed. Fine for a quick business trip but not a ‘luxury stay’
- The changing facilities for the ‘luxury spa’ were roughly the same level as those of a public pool. Again, nothing necessarily wrong with that but they should be honest in advertising and pricing it. In most higher quality hotels the spa facilities are impeccably clean (certainly not so here - at one point there are even missing floor tiles with exposed what looks like earth underneath as it’s a basement pool) and provide basic toiletries (good places have deodorant, mouthwash etc; Grand Jersey only had a bottle of low quality lotion).
- Dilapidated corridors, lifts, restaurant etc - general feeling of lack of care and investment. Again, would be ok if listed as being basic, not luxury.
- Breakfast was fine, but similar to a business hotel.

As such, just understand what you are paying for before you book this. We booked for a special trip and so felt very let down by the experience.

I upload a few pics as well.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Walter_Egal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Talana W, Deputy General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to submit a TripAdvisor review following your stay at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa.
Whilst delighted to note the positive comments about Luciano, Nicholas and the porters, doormen and Tassili restaurant, we were disappointed to note your concerns and feedback regarding other aspects of your stay and would welcome the opportunity to look into these points further. Unfortunately we have not been able to identify your reservation in our system and would be grateful if you would contact us directly via feedback.grandjersey@handpicked.co.uk with this information so we can respond to you in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019

Nothing was too much trouble and the device for the disabled to get up to the hotel is wonderful. Terrific greeting, luggage is left at reception and automatically taken to room. The rooms were very clean and the beds are very comfortable. Water replaced daily along with the usual tea and biscuits. Also a luxury coffee machine of various strengths.The breakfast has so much to offer and if you cant see it they will make it for you. The staff are so jolly and helpful. The spa is free except for treatment. I ventured to the pool the lockers were not very good so take the minimal. The pool itself was easy to get into and out of as it had large in lenth and width steps. It is only 1.25mtrs so not deep. DO NOT go down the spiral stairs if in any way disabled. Use the way in at reception ask at reception to show you .The shower in the room is a lovely walk in and loo mof reasonable height. There are wuite a lot of functions go on at the hotel but doesn`t stop you from whatever you wish to do and isn`t noisy downstairs. Friday nights can be a little noisy as well healed locals use the Staged area for a glass or two but is still reasonable in noise.Situated West of the town small stroll to centre. Take note nothing opens on a Sunday odd pub and restaurants. Most of eateries serve main meals at night.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank Mildenhall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Talana W, Deputy General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a detailed review following your recent stay.

It is lovely to read your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. I am really pleased you had the opportunity to use most of our facilities and I am sure your review would be helpful for any future visitors.

Thank you again for choosing Grand Jersey and I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights Wednesday to Saturday. Very friendly greeting on arrival, shown around the hotel and then to our room. Can’t fault the facilities which include a cinema that you can have exclusive use of. The hotel is popular for functions so we found that the bar area and terrace were partly cornered off for private use at times.

The room although quite small was well presented. Our view was of the back of the hotel and the window was partially frosted so we could only see the sky. Only mirror in the room was inside of the wardrobe and the nearest socket was on the other side of the room which makes drying your hair a little tricky. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn’t work and no drawer storage for clothes.

Turn down service for bedding which was a nice touch . Quite a lot of noise from the creaking floor boards from the rooms above.

Excellent breakfast, lots of choice of continental and full English as well as an additional breakfast menu.

Perfect location for ferry to Elizabeth castle and only a 10 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and museums. The amazing sea view certainly sells it, with the beach directly over the road from the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hAnnah0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Talana W, Deputy General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.

We all take great pride in our work and service and it is great to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and was pleased with the service you received. We very much value your feedback and will make sure to share it with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we came here
The concierge Victor can be recommended to get most things ( except binoculars!)
The staff are really on their game and keen to look after guests.
The location is first class and food perfectly cooked and served
Parking is a gamble but Victor sorts that out
The suite we had was ideal with excellent views

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank djinbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Talana W, Deputy General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Ruby wedding break with us. Thank you very much for your kind comments, please be assured that I will share it with the entire team and with Vitor in particular.

I really do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews