We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$144
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.comUS$144
Agoda.comUS$145
eDreamsUS$144
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
564
387
104
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
564
387
104
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel town centre porridge roof terrace first floor car park plenty of choice single bed stayed for nights without exception large bathroom lovely hotel half board full english no air con hotel bar hotel is situated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

Stayed here for two weeks at beginning of September, in Room 305, as a single traveller.

Reception staff were excellent.

I had no trouble with my room at all apart from being slightly on the small size. It was very comfortable & extremely clean with staff coming in every day to keep it tip top.
Meals were fabulous. I was B&B only but could thoroughly recommend the food in the restaurant & in the bar where it's more relaxed & the staff were second to none.

There was a 'Link' bus which took you down into town but there was no need to use it for me as the walk itself was pleasant & took about 12 minutes at a leisurely pace. There are shops & little squares to sit in all the way down to the main thoroughfare.
Jersey itself is beautiful with lots to do.
The reception staff will book your tours for you & most companies collect you from outside your hotel. What more could you want?

All in all, a great holiday & I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room tip: Rooms above the conservatory on Floor 1 are quieter.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Thank you for your custom and wonderful review of the Royal.

We were originally established as an hotel in the 1840's and are an historic characterful hotel occupying a sizable central site in St. Helier. We have a great number of larger bedrooms and larger bedrooms may be requested at time of booking should this be in any way a concern. Likewise, we are always happy to look to move guest within the hotel should a particular aspect be preferable on arrival.

Thank you once again for your review and valued custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022

The hotel is within a 20 minute walk from the Harbour area of St Helier and the main shopping complex, The staff at the hotel were lovely and could not do enough for you, the std room we stayed in wasn’t large but ok, the restaurant and menu was very good, we went half board, the downside of the hotel for us was that our room was on the first floor, but you had to take the lift to the second floor, then walk along a passage and down some stairs to go to our room, plus it only had one small lift to each floor, but if you could put up with this it was a very nice hotel.

Room tip: Ask to have a room on a level near the lift, and rooms on the inside are quieter
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2022

The hotel is sited about a half mile North of the shopping main street in St Helier, about 10 mins walk. There is a selection of bars and restaurants in close proximity as in the main market.
There is no pool but staff explained that one could use the facilities at their sister hotel sited nearby.
This is an old hotel and its positioned at a crossroads, so combined, provides noise which may be worse in some rooms than others. If on second floor you can here persons walking around above. The vibration can shake the old sash windows! The rooms are various sizes but adequate with good washing facilities and comfy beds. They are clean.
There is a nice restaurant (serves as breakfast room also) plus a good bar and food area with music/tv.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank mrragdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2022

We stayed a week in a double room on a half board basis booked through Jet2. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the shopping area and Liberty Square. For those less able there is now a town link bus service that passes the hotel. The staff are lovely and very efficient at service. Evening meals plentiful and a good choice each night. The bar is nice but could do with more seating as got full most evenings.
The only negative is lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms and our room was facing a road with a pizza takeaway that was noisy at times with delivery cars revving etc. This of course is outside the hotel's control but the noise was reduced when the window was closed with secondary double glazing. However due to the warm nights we needed the window open to cool the room hence the suggestion for air con units in these rooms.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayfoulds67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2022 via mobile

Unfortunately the holiday got off to a bad start as the 1950’s coach that collected us from the airport was stifling with no air conditioning
At the hotel there’s a lovely, open, air conditioned reception and the food is good.
Once we finally found our room on the 2nd floor by going up and down stairs dragging our luggage as the lift couldn’t get us directly to our room, we realised that the room was stiflingly hot, with no air conditioning and no mini fridge to keep drinks cool. There was a fan in the room and when we complained about the temperature which was 22 degrees outside but 98 degrees inside we were given another fan. Useless!! No safe in the room either. We left after 3 days, should have been staying a week.
We will not be returning.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank F9970HBsuew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager Jersey, General Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2022

Thank you for your review. Not all negative elements within your review refer to the Royal and whilst we are sorry you did not enjoy all aspect of the Royal itself, you are kind in noting our food as being good and that you felt we have a lovely, open, air conditioned reception. Our bar, restaurant and function rooms are also air conditioned.

Your allocated bedroom was north facing with opening windows so the temperature you quote we feel would have been considerably lower had windows been continuously open to 22c airflow. We do always try to keep windows open in hotter weather and will give this our renewed attention. By way of note, traditionally, very little sleeping accommodation in Jersey is air conditioned as temperatures do ordinarily tend to fall considerably at night due to our Island location.

Luggage assistance is available and we are always happy to move guests within the hotel when alternative accommodation is available too. Regarding bedroom directional signage, we will look to ensure that the number of your bedroom occupied is better indicated on our internal signage.

Thank you once again for your feedback. It is appreciated. We are sorry you chose to return home early. Should you re-consider visiting Jersey at some future point you would be most welcome here at the Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews