We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia
US$137
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
ZenHotels.com
US$131
View deal
Vio.com
Agoda.comUS$136
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,428)
Filter reviews
2,428 results
Traveller rating
1,398
698
237
65
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,398
698
237
65
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa room shuttle bus lovely hotel amazing spa first class walk into town standard room single room short break plenty of choice breakfast was excellent could not fault full english cooked breakfast yogurt facilities jersey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,428 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Let me start with the good bit. The breakfast staff were excellent especially Monica.

And now for the rest of it.

The room was dated and very small for that price. It was located oddly very far away from the other even numbered rooms. The reception often sent us up the wrong direction.

The shower controls were so stiff we couldn't even open them and struggled. It was obvious this was not looked at each time a new resident came. It should have been done.

We had to request reception to sort it out which they did.

The worst bit is the climb up to the hotel. That slope is very badly broken up and not ideal for the elderly who seem to be the majority of residents who choose this hotel. That slope is a falls risk.

There is a lump of tarmac jutting out at the entrance to the overflow car park and with no lighting in the dark my friend hit that tarmac walking up and sprained her neck. That could have been worse.

And here's the strange bit. A full English breakfast here does not include baked beans. You have to pay one pound extra for some beans.

I have travelled worldwide and never paid extra for beans.

I was a Jersey resident for twelve years and brought two English friends from UK for their first ever visit to lovely Jersey. They didn't thank me for choosing this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chandrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 September 2022

The outside of the building is impressive as is the reception area. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and did indeed found that every member of staff that we encountered were very helpful.and friendly. We had a spa room which did not disappoint. It was bright and large with a balcony.,super king size bed and a large well appointed shower room. We were pleased that the safe was free and there was a fridge and refreshments. It was a special anniversary for us and we were delighted with the gifts and card the hotel kindly left for us. Our room like the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean. The swimming pool area was a relaxing and beautiful calm area.
Breakfast was a continental style with a few additions but a bigger choice at an additional cost. We found that what was provided suited our needs. Coffee/tea was a do it yourself affair but we loved the coffee.
We did eat in the hotel on two evenings but found the restaurant disappointing. If the covered veranda dining area is full then like us you are seated in the bar area where breakfast is served This is very brightly lit and does not create a nice atmosphere for dinner. There wasn’t a great deal of choice for us and it is quite expensive. They automatically add a 10% service charge . We were told by other guests that even if you go to the bar for drinks yourself this charge is added. The room we were seated in did not make us feel like we wanted to linger for drinks after eating our meal.
The hotel is a distance from the town and bus station and the shuttle bus is infrequent and finishes at 4 30 pm .
We really enjoyed our stay but the evening dining could be better.

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Magtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Went to the hotel for lunch while we were staying in Jersey. We booked there as it was where we honeymooned 32 years ago. The staff were initially attentive, however this did not last. We received our food and that was the last time any member of staff spoke to us, no condiments offered, no further drinks or desserts. We had to ask for the bill which took ages to arrive then had to go up to the bar to pay as nobody came over to take our payment. The restaurant was not busy only four other tables eating.
The food was mediocre and overpriced, overall a very disappointing experience

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MRS_OEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 September 2022

Stayed for a long weekend for our wedding anniversary and I have to say it was superb. Great room in what I think was the older part of the hotel - modern decoration and completely immaculate in terms of cleanliness. Top floor with fantastic views across St Helier.

Breakfast was very good and we ate dinner in the restaurant on the first night which again was excellent. Perfectly cooked steaks, a bottle of wine, and sat at an outdoor table with a view - could not of wished for anything better.

We even had a bottle of fizz and some chocs in the room along with a handwritten card because it was our anniversary. Total surprise and a really nice touch. I didn't mention it was our anniversary when I booked the room but only when I later booked the table for dinner - really impressed that they joined the two bookings together.

Staff were brilliant: friendly, polite, chatty, efficient and would do anything for you.

Overall a great weekend in a great hotel with great staff. Faultless!!!!

Room tip: 15/20 minutes walk into St Helier but they do have a shuttle bus. Taxi from the harbour back to the hotel is less than £10
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 September 2022 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday, staying at the Hotel De France
Based on previous reviews we booked a Spa Room, which it turns out is in the newer part of the hotel
Large spacious and very comfortable room, with a large floor to ceiling window and a large patio door giving access to an outside balcony
Hotel itself was immaculate and very comfortable, with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing stay
Breakfast was “continental” although hot food was available and other options could be ordered for an additional cost
The food was delicious and plentiful, enough to set us up for the day
We did also dine at the hotel on a BBQ night, and it was one of the best meals we had throughout the week in Jersey
The walk into town took around 10/15 minutes and was actually quite pleasant, through the Millenium park and past some lovely independent shops and cafes, so don’t let it put you off
If we return to Jersey, we would certainly stay at this hotel, and would highly recommend it to anyone else

Room tip: On a small hill, so not easily accessible to people with walking difficulties
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank garytR3944JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews