We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First dinner since lockdown”
Review of Shinzo

Shinzo
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 22/04
20:00
Ranked #21 of 24 Restaurants in St Aubin
Price range: US$40 - US$150
Description: Shinzō presents modern British and Japanese seasonal cuisine with respect to Japanese culinary arts and an appreciation of the best quality ingredients, located just moments from the beautiful, historic harbour of St Aubin. Dining at Shinzō is about experiencing a fresh take on the produce that Jersey has to offer, cooked in a simple yet eccentric fashion that is not currently offered on the Bailiwick. It is the discipline in the kitchen, a passion for food and a deep understanding of classic Japanese cooking techniques that are essentially the backbone of Shinzō. Pair that with the exquisite cocktail list and wine collection on offer, the team at Shinzō will deliver an unforgettable experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Shinzō presents modern British and Japanese seasonal cuisine with respect to Japanese culinary arts and an appreciation of the best quality ingredients, located just moments from the beautiful, historic harbour of St Aubin. Dining at Shinzō is about experiencing a fresh take on the produce that Jersey has to offer, cooked in a simple yet eccentric fashion that is not currently offered on the Bailiwick. It is the discipline in the kitchen, a passion for food and a deep understanding of classic Japanese cooking techniques that are essentially the backbone of Shinzō. Pair that with the exquisite cocktail list and wine collection on offer, the team at Shinzō will deliver an unforgettable experience.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Service- great
Ambience- great
Food - delicious
Drinks- great choice
Booked here in spite of lukewarm review and are delighted that we did. Reassuringly Covid compliant. Our starters of foie gras and crispy seafood rolls were superb. As was the seabass ( unusual combination on the plate but delightful) . My fillet steak was the usual but waiting for wagyu beef to be served here . The drinks including cocktails were fab . The dessert ( Black Forest) was not up to the same standard and could be better .
Recommend this place for a special night out.
Thank you Raquel, Abigail, Diana, Clare and Andre.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank sajivep2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2021

We managed to scoop a table last minute on a Saturday night, we opted to dine outdoors as the heat lamps and blankets provided were more than appealing.

We sat down and had a look at the menu, we both opted for full 3 course, sushi, Foie Gras, fillets & cheese. All of the food was delicious and well presented definitely worth trying the teriyaki sauce with the steak.

Although expensive the presentation of their signature cocktails is worth the extra couple of quid (see picture below).

Over all a great evening the only two things that let it down a bit was when it was busy during prime time in the restaurant we feel we may have been forgotten about as we were sitting outside (which is understandable) the second thin is that no one really went over the new restrictions or Covid rules with us, maybe it would of been different if we were sat inside?

Thanks for a great evening and we will be returning, special shout out to Claire and our waiter who's name i forget short spikey hair Romanian but lived in the UK and Spain!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 661fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

We went for dinner, food was up to our standards. Everything seemed clean and good.
If you need a pic-me-up drink? Look for Theodore, the guy knows his stuff. We will definitely recommend and return.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank nicushoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Myself and my wife decided to go out for a meal came across shinzo WOW amazing
Staff very cheerful and helpful the sushi chef very happy chap and very knowledgeable about his products we had the tomahawk steak also well done to the chef who cooked it to perfection
Bar staff great and cocktails to die for
Thankyou guys

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Welltraveled19771977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Best sushi, very good staff, good food , nice atmosphere and great decor all staff are very friendly and helpful with best quality

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 748catalinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shinzo also viewed

 
St Aubin, St Brelade
St Aubin, St Brelade
 

Been to Shinzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.