We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
834
556
271
142
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
834
556
271
142
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar irish pub parking garage ghost tour historic charm great historic hotel chubby chipmunk heart of downtown valet service tally's silver spoon top floor two blocks rooms are small corner room an older hotel black hills fire pit
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great hotel woth lots of history and historical guests including Presidents amd celebrities. Rooftop bar and restaurants are excellent and offer stunning views of the Rapid City area (even dinosaur sculptures in the distance).. This was our base camp for visiting Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Devils Tower, Wind Cave amd Jewel Cave. We were pleased with this hotel as a base, but elevator makes an annoying noise. If you are a light sleeper you will want a room away from the elevator. Breakfast consisted of vouchers to use at Starbucks (located within the hotel property). Hotel is an easy walk to all of Rapid City restaurants and bars. The hotel Irish pub on the ground floor of the hotel was lively at night with great crowds of young patrons (but, we couldnt hear any of their revelry at all from within our room just a few stories above them). Bathroom was smallish but fit our needs perfectly.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank ThomasM2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A charming historic hotel with a modern, comfortable room. My only complaint was having the shower over the bathtub, which got quite slippery when soapy - I was lucky not to fall. I was travelling on a group booking, so unfortunately didn't qualify for Hilton Honors points. But we did have a group breakfast in the hotel, which was nice enough.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so happy that you had such an enjoyable experience at the Hotel Alex Johnson. We hope to have you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel had a very interesting lobby, the lifts were so slow, it has a top floor bar which most people decided to get loaded in which made it noisy for people who wanted to sleep after midnight, no breakfast onsite but a Starbucks next door which was so slow it was a joke in the morning.

We rejected our first room but they changed it quickly which was good

Don't go here at the weekend

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Stefan,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. These reviews help us see what we are doing right and in which areas we need to improve. I apologize that you experienced some slow service however, I appreciate you letting us know. We share all comments with the staff as a tool to grow. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we wish you safe future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

A very old but well maintained hotel in downtown Rapid. The rooms are small but it is an old establishment. Rooms wee very clean and bathrooms were redone and are very nice. There is a Starbucks attached and the rooftop bar and a estaurant are wonderful at night. We sat there on July 4th and could se all the fireworks across the city.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spohn110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Alex Johnson. We agree, Vertex Sky Bar is a truly outstanding place to be to enjoy the 4th of July fireworks. We hope to have the opportunity to served you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

There are very few hotel choices this close to downtown. This is a hotel with a bunch of character. I felt like it was a bit pricey. No continental breakfast, however, a Starbucks inside. Our room was nice, pretty clean. A great bar & restaurant downstairs with live music. Lots of shopping, bars, & restaurants within walking distance.

When we first arrived in our room, I found a ray ban sun glasses case with a receipt, no glasses, clearly right on the floor. I took them down to the front desk. You would think that was something housekeeping would have caught. Staff was pleasant, check-in was quick. Valet parking is $15 or so.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in the downtown night life.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ak2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlexJohnson, Manager at Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and onsite dining options. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews