We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
108
58
23
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
58
23
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan lee street station old building downtown attractions wooden nickel huge windows double bed tall ceilings within walking distance other guests corner room quiet hotel main street quiet at night wild bill days historic charm tour bus
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This was our second stay at the Iron Horse in 2 years, nothing much has changed, which is a good thing. I did book one of the smaller rooms, found it a bit too small, however our traveling companion swapped with us, as he had a larger room. All good.

Yes, the stairs are creaky when you walk on them, and things aren't 'as they should be', but this is the charm of an old western hotel, just what we wanted. The staff are friendly, the rates are great, it exudes that old town atmosphere you'd expect in Deadwood. As previously, even though the rooms are from a time gone by, they are clean and comfortable. We stayed for 4 nights and had no complaints at all.

As we were riding motorcycles, cleaning rags are supplied down by the entrance, which is a big help.

Thanks to Mike & the team, another great visit at the Iron Horse.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for being our repeat guest, and for your nice review. Yes, our historic hotel offers rooms in all shapes and sizes. Those with one full size bed are smaller and designed for younger people or those on a tight budget. That said, we can often provide a larger room should the one assigned not be adequate.

I will pass along you compliments to my staff, they work hard to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable environment. With but 19 rooms, it is easier for us to get to know our guests and maintain the friendly attitude that you appreciated. Please come back for a visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

A bit of a disappointment on first entering. The whole place looked rather shabby and run down and the bar area was a total disappointment. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small and dark, but clean. The location is excellent for the main town although parking may be a problem at peak times, although I had no issues on my visit. I think I'd choose somewhere else should I return to Deadwood, which is a fabulous town.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your review, and for being our guest. Our historic hotel was constructed in 1898 as a feed store for horses. We tried to save many of the Victorian features during the renovation, and, due to the historic nature of our building, our rooms vary in shape and size. We pride ourselves in offering a historic room that will fit everyone's taste and budget. A larger room is often available at the request of a guest, should the one assigned not be adequate. I will pass along your compliments to our staff, they work hard each day to provide "friendly and helpful" guest service. We hope that you visit us again on your next trip to our town, I am sure we would have a larger room for a few dollars more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Nice old room with purple bedspread and striped wallpaper with updated bathroom. (Brings you back in time)
Nice friendly staff. When checking in she upgraded us AND gave us an extra discount. It was still pricey but cheaper than other hotels in Deadwood.
Lee Street Station serves a delicious breakfast.
Don’t gamble there.

Room tip: Ask for one facing the Main Street.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2018Michigander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. Our historic hotel offers rooms in all shapes and sizes. Your room 308 is one of my favorites: a spacious queen room with a large area to accommodate luggage. We feel that we have a historic room to fit everyone's taste and budget. I will pass along your compliments to our staff, they try hard each day to be friendly and helpful to our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We were in Deadwood to attend a wedding. What an unexpected greeting we had! Upon arriving in the parking lot at the Iron Horse Inn, it began raining and a tornado passed overhead followed by heavy baseball sized hail stones which pulverized our windshield. After the storm passed a wonderful thing happened in the parking lot. There were many cars that had broken windshields, missing rear windows and/or sunroofs. People came together forming a repair assembly line with plastic sheeting, duct tape and scissors. Cars were vacuumed out and windows covered with plastic sheeting to keep further rain out. The the hotel staff were very helpful in assisting with insurance connections and helping people to make connections with glass repair companies and helping transport people to and from the glass repair shops. Despite the hardships the storm caused, our weekend ended on a very positive note, with our car repaired, we headed home again with a very positive memory of how we were treated like long time friends. When returning to Deadwood the Iron Horse Inn will be our Hotel of choice.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jolenee681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. The hailstorm of June 29th was incredible. But the way that total strangers came together, along with our hotel staff, to help each other was truly amazing. I hope that our weather is better when you return to our town, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Iron Horse! It is centrally located in Deadwood with wonderful access too may great businesses and attractions. We do plan to stay here again in the future. Though they have fairly protected parking, this visit we were kind of wishing they had had covered parking due to a very sudden and violent hail storm.

Room tip: There is an elevator but some steps can't be avoided. Breakfast is not provided there is an onsite cafe with good food.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vevh444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. Like you, many of our guests appreciate our central location, steps away from most activities and attractions offered in town. Our free parking is adjacent to our historic building. The hail storm in late June was indeed incredible, damaging much property in our town. That said, it was heart warming to see total strangers in our parking lot helping each other repair and recover after this event. Witnessing those acts of kindness has to somewhat restore one's faith in mankind! We are looking forward to hosting you again in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews