We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
497
150
45
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
150
45
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking fee infinity pool frosted glass retractable roof lobby bar cadillac jacks the spring hill suites entire room separate sitting area sofa bed brown rock nice pool road trip beautiful hotel bathroom door black hills king suite
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We stopped here for one night with our tour group.

The hotel was great.....rooms were large and supplied with many amenities that made our stay even more special. It is attached to Cadillac Jack's Casino......so that's a great plus for those interested in gambling.

The hotel is located at the edge of Deadwood, but there is an available shuttle that will (for a $1 fee) take you anywhere to/from Deadwood. Nice!

Two suggestions for future improvements, though. First, the area where the breakfast foods are provided for the included continental breakfast is small, especially considering the number of rooms in the hotel. Surely, there has to be a larger area for this.

Also, because we were part of a tour group, our luggage was transported by a staff member from the bus to our room (vice versa on the morning we checked out). There was ONE staff member assigned to this task so it was a very long time before we received our bags. Shame on the fellow staff members! While the one guy was working as hard & fast as he could to get 42 guests' bags to their rooms, there were at least two Front Desk staff members doing little there..........so what happened to teamwork??? I'm sure that Marriott corporate would have expected more.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Good day. Thank you for staying with us in Deadwood and taking the time to review us. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your room, the location and the Deadwood Trolley. Your bus group from PA was a pleasure to have! Yes, we do have 78 rooms at the property and at times the breakfast and lobby area can get busy. We do have extra seating always available on our patio outside and in our banquet rooms if needed as well. We will look at opening a banquet room for our breakfast guests in the future if needed. Thanks for the great feedback. We will also look into our valet scheduling for bus groups to handle luggage. your feedback has been tremendous and it will help us improve. We hope you'll come back to visit us again in Deadwood from PA soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We booked a one night stay in our way back home from a long trip out west. We read fabulous reviews here. We have been to Deadwood before and haven’t been “wowed” by any hotels we stayed in. The staff were incredibly friendly and the room was amazing! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and before we left town we cashed in our perk at the casino, and I won $50!! Couldn’t have been better!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Anna. Thanks for staying with us in Deadwood and researching and reviewing our reviews! We're glad to hear you had a tremendous experience with us and I'm happy you left town $50 ahead! Nice work! Thanks also for the review. I post reviews such as yours to our team as a "thank you" to them and for extra motivation to keep up the great work. Come back to see us again soon! -James and the SHS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We booked 3 rooms online while touring the area, knowing this hotel was attached to Cadillac Jack's Casino. We were given a handi-cap room but that was not a problem. All of the rooms were large and clean. However, all the rooms were out of shampoo and instead there were 2 small bottles of conditioner. One of the staff acknowledged that yes indeed there were 2 conditioners and no shampoo and they were told by the managers to put them in there like that? Did they think we wouldn't notice? Our price for the rooms was reasonable enough and breakfast was good, but later we found an additional charge on the card we used for incidentals. When contacted we were told the additional $13.79 was for parking for one night? Not real happy about that and what do you suppose they charge the people in the casino to park? if nothing then we should have also been charged nothing as we spent money in their casino. Drinks in the bar were weak and expensive and the buy one get one free Starbucks coffee was $8 with tip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large but watch the extra charges
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerRodUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Good day. Thanks for staying with us in Deadwood and giving us a review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the large, clean rooms. I apologize on behalf of our team regarding the extra conditioner in your room and no shampoo. I will look into this with our head housekeeper to see why this happened, as we have plenty of shampoo to go around. Also, can I ask where you booked your rooms online? We do list the parking fee on all major sites, such as Marriott, expedia, booking, etc., so there are not any surprises. We also explain this at check-in and during the reservation process via telephone. I apologize if we did not in your case. Most of Deadwood will have a resort fee or parking fee because of the landscape and lack of room for parking, much like a large city. If they don't have a fee, their rates are normally higher. I also apologize about your experience with the drinks at the bar and Starbucks. I'll pass along your feedback to our food and beverage manager to see what see can do to improve this. Once again, we apologize for the issues you experiences and we thank you for the feedback. It will help us improve. I hope to hear from you soon and we hope you'll come back to see us again soon! -James and the SHS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I would have given a higher rating if I could have gotten my room cleaned. We saw the cleaning staff in the hall when we left in the morning, letting them know we were out of our room. Came back a little before 2, room still wasn't cleaned. Called the front desk 3 times between 2-4 and was told they would send housekeeping. I finally went to the front desk and was told house keeping had done home, and what did I want them to do. I said...I would like my room cleaned and was rudely told by the man at the desk, I said they went home. So I asked for towels, they never came. Being a Platinum Elite Marriott Member, I expect that my room is cleaned at a minimum and the front desk staff not be rude. Very disappointing

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306,696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hello Mary. Thank you for staying wit us and thank you for being a Platinum Elite member. I apologize about the housekeeping issues you experienced yesterday. I will speak directly with our head housekeeper to investigate why your room was not cleaned. That's very disappointing. Did you have a do not disturb sign up on the door by chance? Also, I sincerely apologize about the rudeness you experienced at the desk with our PM employee. I plan to speak with him directly today and give you a call with him on the line and we will go from there. We are known for our great great service and cleanliness and we dropped the ball in your case. I apologize once again and I will follow up with you tonight. Thanks again and I promise we will improve. I look forward to speaking with you directly soon. -James and the SHS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed for a business meeting with the local phone company. Reserved meeting room with coffee and breakfast provided. Desarae Biggins of the hotel staff did a great job handling all of the arrangements and Tiffany was a wonderful hostess, meeting our needs and those of our customer. Great Job! We’ll be back!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Carter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hi Carter. It was nice speaking with you the other day. Thanks for leaving us this great review. I will pass this along to Des and my team. She does a tremendous job for us. I"ll do the same for Tiffany as well. We're glad to hear everyone went good. Come back and see us soon! -James and the SHS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews