We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
90
98
61
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
98
61
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib bus tour covered parking coffee machine casino hotel clean rooms enjoyed our stay shuttle fridge vehicle lodging
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Lovely room in a great location with attached casino. Nice room in quiet hotel, with a friendly staff. Helpful, Professional, Friendly, personable Dealers in the casino.. Location makes all of Deadwood close.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Les, Thanks for the review. We are glad that you liked our hotel and dealers. Hope you choose us again for your next visit to Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We loved this hotel, now called Travelodge Inn & Suites. Great location, walking distance to historic downtown Deadwood and a short drive to Keystone, Sturgis and Spearfish. We stayed in a suite which had a beautiful view of Deadwood. My mom had her own bathroom in the living room side of the suite and we had our own on our side of the suite. It was nice to be able to shut the door and turn air cond down on our side without freezing out my mom's side. She pulled out the sofa sleeper and said it was very comfy to sleep on. Room was not only beautiful but spotless. Our cleaning lady was super nice! Had plenty of extra towels, bedding, etc so I didn't have to constantly chase some down. I will stay here every time I go back to Deadwood SD! Also, the have a great golf car riding system to get to building 1 or down to the trolley stop in front of Cadillac Jacks.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Sandi, Thanks for the kind review. We are glad that you and your mom had a great stay in one of the suites. Thanks for staying with us and see you on your next visit to Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at First Gold during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and we were overall pleased with our stay and had no issues... In fact we felt the hotel went above and beyond! The staff was friendly, housekeeping was readily available, our questions were answered, and our needs and concerns were addressed in a courteous and professional manner.

As we were coming into town, we had a vehicle issue, and the gentleman in maintenance EXCEEDED our expectations when he went to the auto parts store for us and purchased what we needed and did not accept money for the purchase nor for going.

The hotel allowed us to check in several hours early when we arrived after an exhausting 30 hour drive from Pa.

Our stay at First Gold was positive and we will stay again for our next trip to the Rally.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Carrie, Thanks for the review. Glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our staff here at First Gold. Thanks again. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Travellodge: nice hotel, nice room. Fridge and microwave. Stayed in pet freindly room but they would not acknowledge my service dog and charged me for pet. This is the only hotel that has done this.
First Gold casino is nice and has all the great slots i like

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Maggie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you liked our rooms and our casino. Hope you choose us again for your next stay in Deadwood. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Judging by the photos online I was expecting a much nicer hotel. As soon as we walked in it smelled old and musty. The whole place looks like it needs an update, from the casino to the buffet to the rooms. I booked it non-refundable through an airline, or we would have moved to another hotel. We stayed in the "main" building that housed the casino. Maybe the Travelodge rooms are nicer, but I don't know since we never saw them. I found the atmosphere to be kind of depressing, along the lines of one of the older hotels in Atlantic City that's getting seedy. We went to The Lodge for dinner one night, and that was WAAAY nicer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LisaLovesTheSkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_LS_GM, General Manager at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews