We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
84
44
9
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
44
9
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge bathroom jetted tub main street period style bedroom suite smoking lounge third floor public parking garage bed was comfortable casino bar modern amenities historic feel night's sleep great room two blocks staff was very friendly and helpful coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

The rooms in the hotel are exceptional. Great location (A must if you plan to have a few at Saloon #10). Great Western appeal with modern bathroom. However, if I didn’t bring earplugs (Saturday night), I wouldn’t have slept at all. I did have them, and I slept great. Parking is a challenge, validated in the town public garage two blocks away. They have two small parking spots in front for unloading. You just need to hope they are not taken They were).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your review, and for being our guest. Yes, our Main Street location is just steps away from the famous Saloon #10, along with most of the other attractions that our town has to offer. Thank you for noticing our "exceptional" rooms! We tried to save many of the original Victorian features of our historic hotel during renovation, yet install the modern creature comforts desired by today's guests.

It is unusual that guests are bothered by the street noise at night as our rooms are well insulated. However, we can often offer a room that does not face Main Street for lighter sleepers. A younger crowd was in town the night that you stayed, attending a performance by a band named "Five Finger Death Punch." If I had attended that event, I may have asked to borrow your ear plugs.

We hope that you will be our guest again on your next trip to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

A very good choice if staying in the Deadwood area.
-On Main Street so very walkable to "Deadwood" things, especially if used in conjunction with the Trolley.
-Decent slot machine array of choices.
-Respectable bar food - their pizza is particularly good.
-The building/hotel rooms are old but updated enough to be modern. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms are quite nice - ie large and have jet tubs and/or a skylight (stayed w/ two others who I saw their rooms as well).

The only thing I would call a con/hassle is the parking. ( Which is expected in any concentrated/popular area - I think.) They will provide a parking voucher for the Public Parking garage which is a 5min walk. Though you will have to get the voucher from the Cashier Cage as they will look at you to see if you're sober enough to drive.
This was not a big deal, but adds a couple of minutes to one's time table for excursions.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank funtobeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. Like you, most of our guests like our convenient location, our gaming offering, and our pizza!! Thank you for noticing the care taken in renovating our 1898 building in order to accommodate today's guest expectations. We tried very hard offer modern "creature comforts," yet maintain the Victorian charm of our historic structure.

Like most historic hotels, parking automobiles was not an issue when constructed. While our guest parking is located across the street in the city's new covered parking structure, our loading zone next to the hotel allows for easy baggage handling.

We hope to host you again on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped here to check it out and get a bite to eat. Burgers were very good. Played for a small amount of time and won a few bucks. Players club was closed so couldn't get a players card. They have a smoking lounge.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank honorc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for stopping by our hotel, and for your nice review. We serve certified Angus burgers with chips for $6, and Nathan's 1/4 lb. hot dogs with chips for $3. Next time you might try our award winning pizza, we think it is the best pie in town. I am glad you won in your gaming try. While we can't guarantee slot machine winners, we hope that everyone has a good time when visiting our facility. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend at the Hickok Hotel on Main Street in Deadwood. Close to all the attractions and restaurants, very comfortable rooms with the nostalgia of the Old West combined with the conveniences of today. Beautiful turn of the century decor, in room coffee maker, microwave, small fridg, TV, large walk-in bath with jetted tub, and.....free wifi! Excellent customer service with a very friendly staff who are more than happy to see to your every need! Park the car because you won’t need it! Everything is within walking distance or just minutes away by taking a ride on the trolley! Thanks to everyone who made our stay so memorable!!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. Our location is very convenient, right on Main Street and steps from most of our town's activities and attractions. I am glad that you found your room to be comfortable, and I will pass along your compliments to our staff. They work hard to try to ensure our guests feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! Beautiful room, nicely furnished, cheerful staff. Close to everything Deadwood has to offer. We particularly liked the old staircase, although there’s an elevator as well. We will certainly stay here again in the future.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. During our renovation, we tried to maintain many of the original Victorian features of the building, including the old staircase and woodwork. Thank you for noticing! I will pass along to our staff your compliments, they work hard each day in an attempt to ensure the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews