We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
1899 Inn(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deadwood Gulch Resort(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$197
US$131
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$107
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
80
42
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
42
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bathroommain streetjetted tubbedroom suiteperiod stylethird floorold westturn of the centurysmoking loungepublic parking garagebed was comfortabletwo blocksslept greatbeautiful roomcasino barhistoric feelmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Very nice room, staff seemed very put out like we were asking to much when the A/Christian would not shut of by offering us a heater instead of going to the room to check on the problem......Listened to the A/Christian run all weekend!!!!!! Very poor customer service. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is non-smoking
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for being our guest. I will check the A/C problem that you encountered, and visit with my staff about our short comings surrounding your issue. We typically offer clean, comfortable historic rooms at a reasonable price, and we take pride in our customer service. I am sorry that we "fell down" in your case, and hope that you might visit us again so that we might have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times now. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Deadwood. Would recommend to anyone going to the Black Hills. We did have an issue this time with house keeping not servicing our room. It was rectified immediately both times I went downstairs, once to the cage, and once to the bar. The gentleman in the cage, and the bar tender immediately brought up to our room what we required (towels, soap, etc). A very small smudge on an otherwise wonderful place. Would and will stay here again on our next trip to the Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest. Sorry about the housekeeping issue, but I am glad that we were able to rectify the problem quickly. Occasionally timing is a problem with our "do not disturb" signs....they are still hanging when the housekeepers are ready to leave for the day. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Beautiful rooms! huge bathrooms with jetted tubs. We have loved every room we've ever stayed in at Hickok's. Free parking pass, coffee 24/7 in the casino and coffee in the room. Our last stay, the day of our checkout, there was a parade so we were unable to get our vehicle out of the parking garage as the streets were blocked off. Hickocks let us store our luggage in a closet so we could still go sight see until we were able to get our vehicle.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger, some rooms have multiple bedrooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shalleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. During our restoration we tried to include many of the "creature comforts" that make for a pleasant guest experience....large bathrooms, room refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, etc... Thank you for noticing! While the Days of '76 parade delayed your departure, I am glad we were able to accommodate your bags, and you did get to view the great western parade on Main Street! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Hickok's had a wonderful 1800's feel with a great location in downtown Deadwood. The bed was comfortable and the hot shower and huge bathroom were great as well. We had all the modern conveniences (except no exhaust fan in the bathroom) which included a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and a flat screen TV hung on the wall. But it was the fireplace, armoire, ornate wallpaper, old time lamps, flower-patterned chair, and the huge window with the shade and valance that really gave the room character.

This hotel was somewhat unique in that you did not have someone sitting at a front desk when you arrived and departed. You had to actually go into the casino part of the hotel to check in and check out.

We were here only one night and did not get to check out the good food reportedly served in the bar area. We would definitely stay here again. The hotel was reasonably priced. We did not hear noise from the casino below.

Great hotel. I give the service an average rating only because they really did not have to provide us any service while we were there. I actually did not see anyone working in the hotel, but my husband went into the casino to check in and check out. You get five stars for sleep quality and location, though!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. Our hotel was constructed in 1898, and renovated about ten years ago. During the restoration, we maintained the important Victorian features unique to our history....the large windows, high ceilings, original woodwork, etc. But we those modern creature comforts you mentioined are a nice addition!!! I hope that you can visit us again so that we might display our customer service, and you can try one of our award winning pizza's at the bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Parking is 3 blocks from hotel checkin. There was a car parked in the 20 min parking from at least 4:oopm until 9:00 and then again in the morning when we checked out early. Rooms are clean but very small, staff friendly but not very helpful in getting refund as we left 1 day early and said we have to go thru Expedia to get refund.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank lonb934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to give us a review. Our rooms do vary in size, as our building was constructed in 1898 and renovated in the early 2000's to it's present hotel use. We saved the important Victorian features while adding the necessary "creature comforts" required by guests today. We can surely find you a larger room on your next visit! When making a reservation on any "on-line" site, cancellations must also be made through that site in order for the proper accounting to occur. These sites typically charge the hotel 15% or more of the room amount, so we always encourage guests make a reservation directly with the hotel. I will pass along your compliment to the housekeeping staff, they do work very hard to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable. We hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews