We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
84
34
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
34
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small taco homemade cinnamon rolls beautiful place to stay grassy area trolley stops motorcycle trip window unit parked our car busy road bath towels south dakota deadwood area chain hotels short stay coffee maker small fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Once again, thanks to TripAdvisor, we found this Hidden Gem! If we went back to the area we would stay here again for sure! Small clean room, homemade cinnamon rolls and banana muffins for breakfast! Reasonably priced for sure!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jodajoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

This beautiful motel goes above and beyond on details. Connie was so friendly. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Very large room, closet and bathroom. I would give this place 10 Stars!! You have to try the cinnamon rolls!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank angiehouchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Rooms were small, but immaculate. Rooms had recently been refurbished and were nicely decorated....definitely not a chain hotel. Attention to detail was incredible....pretty blue sheets and lace trim on the blankets. The hotel manager, Connie, was extremely helpful regarding must see/do items. I would definitely stay there again if I’m in the area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here one night during a road trip through the Dakotas. The Cedar Wood Inn is a family owned and run business that has operated for many years in the quirky, but totally fascinating town of Deadwood.
Connie on the front desk could not have been more welcoming and helpful, mapping out for us a few of her favourite “must visit” locations.
We had a ground floor twin bed room which was enormous, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The regular tram service into the Main Street stops right outside the front door.
We try to avoid the national chain hotels whenever possible as we like to support the ever diminishing locally owned independents like the CWI where your business is genuinely appreciated. It is a well run, friendly and good value establishment and I for one hope it continues to thrive for many years to come. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank DPKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We have been visiting Deadwood, SD for over 20 years, mostly during The Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. We've wanted to stay at the Cedar Wood Inn, but have never been lucky enough to get a room, due to the Inn being fully booked every time we tried to make reservations. This year, we visited Deadwood/Sturgis 3 weeks AFTER the Rally was over, so the Cedar Wood Inn had a room for us. We stayed in #11, which is a 2 room suite. The living room area has a fold out queen size Sofa/Hide-a-Bed and the bedroom area had a very comfortable King Size bed with 4 pillows. Unfortunately, someone had broken the Sofa/Hide a Bed in the living room during the Sturgis Rally and it wasn't fixed by the time we arrived, so each time we sat on it, we sunk down into the frame, or had to place a bed pillow under us to be comfortable. No worries. We didn't spend more than an hour watching TV during the entire 3 day stay. The living room area is also equipped with a coffee maker (coffee provided), a small fridge with a separate freezer and a microwave. The bathroom is small with a stand up shower with a water-saving shower head. (no tub) The water pressure is good, and the water is hot! The room is scrupulously clean and we had daily maid service to replenish shampoo, soap, conditioner and linens. Room #11 is right on the street with parking in front of the room. We were fine during the time we stayed, but I can see where Room #11 might be a bit noisy during the Rally, if that's when you decide to visit. Coffee is served in the Office along with homemade cinnamon buns and muffins each day. Our hosts Audrey and Connie were helpful, pleasant and fun to talk to. We have already made our reservations for the 2019 Sturgis Rally, but will be in a room further from the street. You will enjoy your time at the Cedar Wood Inn. If you've never stayed, give it a try.

Room Tip: A room further away from the street will probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix_AZShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews