We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting little Inn!!!”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Why stay in yet another cookie-cutter hotel when the Water's Edge Inn is available? It's a charming little venue hidden away amongst the flora and fauna of Folly. (Even friends who are natives didn't know it was there.) We fell in love with it. Our room with the fireplace, private screened-in porch, and jetted tub with rainfall shower was SUBLIME, and we were welcomed warmly by staff. The location is convenient to Charleston, and only blocks away from the very popular Lost Dog cafe. (Even though breakfast is provided by the Inn, everyone should try the Lost Dog at least once!) We will no doubt stay at Water's Edge whenever we are in the Charleston area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you Geanie B for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and the "quaint" atmosphere of our Inn. It is wonderful to hear that you found the room and its amenities to be cozy as well. We are pleased that our friendly staff took great care of you during your stay. I personally love the Lost Dog Cafe and find myself recommending it daily to our guests for a "nice brunch/lunch spot" (since their kitchen closes by 3 PM daily) as we serve our daily complimentary breakfast from 8-10 AM everyday ;-). When planning your future getaways please keep in mind that we always extend a 10% discount for all return guests. We truly appreciate your time and we hope you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Just spent several days at the Inn with good friends. As always, a wonderful experience. Cozy, comfortable rooms, lovely happy hour with appetizers, tasty hot breakfast, and a staff dedicated to providing you with the best stay. We are planning another visit late spring when we will bring our adult childten and spouses. Can't wait to stay in one of the villas. The town is quaint and just 3 blocks to the beach. Rita's is a terrific place for a casual lunch. Best part is the proximity to Charleston. We love having dinner in the city and Uber is just $15 each way. We travel extensively but Water's Edge is just 2 hours from home and a real treasure. This is now our go to getaway!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank phillie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Thank you phillie1 for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our happy hour, hot breakfast, and our friendly staff! It is wonderful that you found our location to be convenient to both Center Street and the downtown historic Charleston district. We are honored to hear that you have chosen us as your new "go to getaway." We are pleased to hear that you plan to return again with family and are interested in booking a private Villa. We always extend a 10% discount for all return guests and we hope to see you in the Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We just purchased a house on Folly Beach but the house needs work so I could not stay there for the weekend. I called The Tides hotel thinking I wanted to stay on the beach. Luckily they had no availability and I was recommended to The Water's Edge Inn. The Inn only had to rooms available and I at the time just needed a room for the weekend. I really had no idea what I was about to partake in with this beautiful, amazing Inn... As I arrived and walked up the stairs to check in I was met with a warm and cozy feeling and they were also serving wine and cheese!!! I got my keys for The Charleston room which as I described it was like a mini apartment. I walked into this big beautiful room with a soaking tub and the most heavenly of all beds. It was beyond perfect!!! That evening I had a small dinner and the night was so lovely I sat outside with my wine listening to Jimmy Buffett in the Palm Trees. What an amazing start to a beautiful weekend. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty and the staff we're all warm and happy to talk about the Inn and give suggestions on what to do for the weekend. I stayed 2 nights and could have easily stayed for more if the time allowed. I felt pampered and felt as though I was staying in a 5 star hotel but this was better!! I will be back already planning a girls trip to stay again in The Charleston!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Cindi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you Cindi P for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with your overall stay! It is wonderful that the TIDES recommended us to you as well! We are pleased that you enjoyed our happy hour and breakfast. It is great to hear that all of our staff took great care of you and you enjoyed the relaxing amenities of The Charleston room! Congratulations on your new home purchase too! We hope you can return again soon for another getaway or please send your friends our way when they come visit you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Took a chance with this place based on web site and reviews - and were not disappointed. The room was great, staff warm & inviting, location perfect (5 minute walk to beach or 20 minute drive to Meeting Street in Charleston), and area totally friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you Grant G for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! We are so thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised and not in the slight bit disappointed in your stay with us! It is wonderful that you enjoyed our convenient location to the beach and historic Charleston, were taken great care of by out friendly staff, and found the room to be relaxing!!! We are pleased that the previous reviews convinced you to stay with us and you were satisfied and will hopefully return!! We always extend a 10% discount for all return guests and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Water's Edge is a beautifully quaint bed and breakfast within walking distance to Folly Beach's shopping, restaurants, and the beach. The staff is incredible, and in particular, Abby, Emily, and Alma made our stay especially memorable. We loved the full, home-cooked breakfast every morning between 8 and 10, as well as happy hour from 5 to 7. Our room, The Pacific, was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Note: There are stairs only, no elevator, so be prepared, especially if you're on the top floor.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DRTX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you OurTexasFamily for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our location to the center of town and the beach. It is wonderful to hear that our staff including Abby, Emily, and Alma took especially great care of you to make your stay more enjoyable. We are thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary happy hour and breakfast as well as the relaxing atmosphere of The Pacific room. We hope you can return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,374 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range: HK$1,234 - HK$2,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing