We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,033)
Filter reviews
4,034 results
Traveller rating
2,843
689
287
141
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,843
689
287
141
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level palmetto cafe thoroughbred club retractable roof beautiful hotel room service luxury hotel bell staff southern charm junior suite rooftop pool within walking distance turn down service king street fitness center heart of downtown the location is perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 4,034 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Belmond for the holidays. We had a wonderful experience at the hotel from our arrival to our departure 5 days later. We were greeted warmly and treated well from the moment we entered (even with COVID restrictions). Our rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff were some of the best I have experienced. The Christmas decorations were wonderful and picture worthy!
They were also running a 4th night free special that made the hotel more of a value than usual.
The only downside was the service at the restaurants - we ate at three restaurants, Palmetto cafe, Charleston Grill and Thoroughbred club. The food was good, even outstanding at times but the service was fine, never outstanding, even at Charleston Grill. Our servers were not very attentive and the greeter at Palmetto was very abrupt and didn't recognize us after 4 days in a row of eating there.
I would recommend the hotel overall and were very pleased with all services and staff (except for the restaurant). You cannot beat the location either!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SavannahCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SavannahCo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are thrilled to hear about your excellent stay, and that you enjoyed the decorations and the cleaning measures we have in place. Our staff works hard to create memorable experiences for each guest, we are glad your experience was just that.

Thank you as well for your candid remarks regarding your time dining with us. Service is our top priority, and your feedback will be shared with the teams to ensure we improve any deficiencies.

Again, we appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Belmond Charleston Place.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A oasis in downtown Charlestown, Great Service Overall great Experience. Staff is friendly and informative. Plush Spacious rooms. Many dining and shopping options all within walking distance. First choice when staying in Charleston.

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DDominick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

Cant find a better club area, great employees and food offerings..Our favorite hotel around.
Have stayed here 7 or 8 times, always great...
Great safety guidelines with Covid ...Great Christmas decorations and shops

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertwV8988EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to continue to welcome you back to your Charleston home away from home. Our Club Level is a wonderful spot to relax and unwind and I hope it was just that for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

The location was wonderful for out meeting and the hotel was excellent with amazing dining. It is an easy walk to much of the beauty of Charleston and its historic charms. The meeting rooms were excellent and the food was exceptional. Really liked the Rainbow Row coffee dispensers. It just shows the level of detail Belmond goes to make both business and guests welcome to experience Charleston

Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bsmith873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to hear that your time in the Holy City was wonderful and that you enjoyed the food and meeting experiences. I'm especially pleased you found time to enjoy beautiful Charleston and explore the historic district, right outside our doors. We hope to welcome you back again soon, next time your travels bring you to Charleston.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2020

We stayed here for our honeymoon weekend. The location was perfect, the food in the hotel was fantastic and the staff really went out of their way to take care of us. We will stay here every time we visit Charleston.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patrickbruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Dear Patrick,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing us for such a special occasion. I'm delighted to hear your honeymoon was memorable thanks to our team and our amenities, like our great restaurants. On belhalf of the entire team, we wish you many years of wedded bliss and we look forward to the day we can welcome you back to your Charlseton home away from home.

Kindest regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews