We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Ranked #1 of 832 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

This was our second time back to Halls. IMO best steakhouse ever. Somehow I messed up on making our reservation. I booked for Sunday and not Saturday ‍♂️. The hostess Sara? Managed to get us in she was super helpful so thank you for making the night happen. The service was impeccable, the food outstanding. Not a bad thing to say.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 720jimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 6,320 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2021

Unfortunately this review has nothing to do with the quality of food at Halls Chophouse because our horrid customer experience prevented us from even being seated for our reservation. After arriving on time for our 9:30 reservation, we were immediately told that our table was not ready and that we would need to wait in a crowded lobby area with loosely enforced COVID-19 protocols. After approximately 30 minutes of waiting with no one from the staff checking in with us on the status of our table and numerous other guests being seated before us, my wife inquired with one of the hostesses before one of the restaurant managers inserted himself into the conversation and amazingly told us that “there was no need to be rude” for simply voicing frustration about our extended wait time. After this completely unnecessary comment, we chose to leave the restaurant and abandon our reservation but were chased out onto the street by the restaurant manager preventing us from walking away and declaring that he would call the police on us without actually mentioning what the reasoning was behind that. After further back and forth conversation in which he hurled further insults he told both of us to “never come back to Charleston again.” What this particular individual doesn’t realize is we will in fact be returning to Charleston but will never go near this establishment again. And we actively advise anyone reading this review to similarly avoid this restaurant so you don’t have a similar situation.

Date of visit: February 2021
4  Thank Pioneer791968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

All I can say is WOW!!! From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like family!! Bar service was top notch and very attentive! Our waiter Darrell was so awesome!!! He made us feel like we had known him for years and just made us feel right at home!!! He made perfect suggestions on dinner and answered any questions we had!!! We were also greeted by all the staff and made to feel very appreciated that we dined with them!! The food was out of this world!! We had the bone in filet with creamy Brussel sprouts and Darrell also suggested the perfect wine to compliment our meal!!! We were also greeted at our table and again thanked as we left by Billy Hall!! It was definitely a perfect experience and we will definitely be back!!!!!!

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank Mwood0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

First night in Charleston which was superbowl night we visited this restaurant. I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have eaten in last 60 years. The steak was fantastic the she crab soup was great the salad the cream corn side dish. We ate so much we were unable to eat dessert. our server Sara p was great made recommendations small talk about Charleston and very attentive. people talk about visiting a city and make sure you check out a certain restaurant. this is one of those places to make sure you check out and dont miss. Not cheap but you pay for what you get. I even received a nice hand written note from the restaurant and server thanking me for our visit. I will be back

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank PeteS596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

Be prepared.
My colleague and i were walking through the Historic District of Charleston after sampling a couple of local brews searching for something to eat. When we walked past the door of Halls Chophouse, then took in the aroma, we knew we found our spot. We were not prepared for the experience, food, or the bill.
The food was amazing; appetizers, mains and side dishes. The portions were a bit on the ridiculous side, and glad we were warned to share. We still were unable to finish.
The atmosphere was electric but seemed to be business oriented. In the age of covid, I honestly felt the team did their best to make the customers feel comfortable and safe, which included quick service and a smile emanating from their eyes.
Absolutely fantastic, and a place i will bring my wife on my return later this year.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank sbc_smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.