We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunderbird Motel
Nearby Hotels
Leumeah Lodge(Nicholls)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Hotel & Apartment(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
350
149
19
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
350
149
19
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat restaurantstaff were very friendlyonsite restaurantroom serviceovernight stayeasy walkrooms are largesmall kitchenettespa roomgreat place to stayin towngood sizefamily roomqueen bedcomfortable bedslong drivegreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Have stayed at The Thunderbird Motel a few times now, is one of the best motels we have stayed in on our many travels, rooms are large clean and comfy, bathrooms roomy and well laid out, all the facilities you require,Staff are always friendly and welcoming , would not stay anywhere else when in that area,

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Brian

Thank you for reviewing our motel. It is a pleasure to have you stay at our motel and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Better than expected. Warm welcome, great size rooms for our family of 5....with a pool for a quick dip. Didnt expect much but was definitely happy with our choice. Close to supermarket and dining. Not far of the Hume. Perfect place to stop before Sydney chaos.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Ramona

Thank you for reviewing our Motel, we are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed in the Cottage for one night.
Check-in was okay. The receptionist was pleasant enough. One minor criticism: she seemed to be reciting a script, rather than really engaging with me and listening to what I said.
On entering the cottage, we had a bit of a rude shock as all the windows were closed and it felt like a sauna, and it took a while to cool down the lounge and kitchen. The bedrooms, unfortunately, did not cool down much at all during the night.
There was a split system air con in the lounge/kitchen area which worked quite well. The bedrooms only had air ducts in the floor and they did not really cool the rooms that well. We tried to open the windows, but couldn't get the master bedroom window to budge at all.
The glass door to the outdoor entertaining area was half broken and I would have called reception if the sliding screen door had the same problem. That locked properly, so I didn't bother.
Yes, I know, "management can't do anything unless told", but seriously, as a weary traveller, you just want to get some rest and get on with the holiday and it's really not a guest's job to check on maintenance.
The entertainment area is not really private as it abuts the restaurant car park driveway. But we did sit out there and enjoyed the reasonably well kept garden.
The shower was okay and we slept okay, except I woke up early because the room was uncomfortably too warm for me.
Overall, our stay was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for you review although we are surprised. We have just finished renovating the cottage. Windows aren’t left open when rooms aren’t occupied, unfortunally due to the heat wave we are experiencing with 40 plus heat rooms can be hot, but with split system air condition of large capacity and ceiling fans in each room it doesn’t take long to cool down. We are not sure what you mean by the sliding door half broken, we have since check the door and no fault has been found. As the receptionist would have indicated to you on arrival to contact office if you need any assistance, we are on sit 24/7 and only too happy to address immediately any issues guests might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Just a one night stay to avoid the high prices of accommodation in Canberra... our room was spacious and well appointed, though a little more expensive than I thought usual for this town. Despite being in the main road there was no traffic noise. The swimming pool proved popular with many guests as it was a very hot afternoon when we arrived. While perhaps a little pricey this is a nice place to stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gryphon_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Gryphon_Lodge

Thank you for your review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Thunderbird over Christmas while visiting family in the Yass area. Clean, comfortable and well equipped rooms - including a modern renovated bathroom, and small kitchenette. Complimentary DVD collection was a nice touch, and the restaurant menu looks lovely (closed over Christmas though, which is understandable).
We will be back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Jessica

We are glade you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews