We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and the family room was excellent”
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Yass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the family room and it was well appointed and huge.

It's close to cafes and pubs and the information centre.

I can definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Selwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Selwyn

Thank you for reviewing our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Have stayed at The Thunderbird Motel a few times now, is one of the best motels we have stayed in on our many travels, rooms are large clean and comfy, bathrooms roomy and well laid out, all the facilities you require,Staff are always friendly and welcoming , would not stay anywhere else when in that area,

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Brian

Thank you for reviewing our motel. It is a pleasure to have you stay at our motel and look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Better than expected. Warm welcome, great size rooms for our family of 5....with a pool for a quick dip. Didnt expect much but was definitely happy with our choice. Close to supermarket and dining. Not far of the Hume. Perfect place to stop before Sydney chaos.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ramona

Thank you for reviewing our Motel, we are please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed in the Cottage for one night.
Check-in was okay. The receptionist was pleasant enough. One minor criticism: she seemed to be reciting a script, rather than really engaging with me and listening to what I said.
On entering the cottage, we had a bit of a rude shock as all the windows were closed and it felt like a sauna, and it took a while to cool down the lounge and kitchen. The bedrooms, unfortunately, did not cool down much at all during the night.
There was a split system air con in the lounge/kitchen area which worked quite well. The bedrooms only had air ducts in the floor and they did not really cool the rooms that well. We tried to open the windows, but couldn't get the master bedroom window to budge at all.
The glass door to the outdoor entertaining area was half broken and I would have called reception if the sliding screen door had the same problem. That locked properly, so I didn't bother.
Yes, I know, "management can't do anything unless told", but seriously, as a weary traveller, you just want to get some rest and get on with the holiday and it's really not a guest's job to check on maintenance.
The entertainment area is not really private as it abuts the restaurant car park driveway. But we did sit out there and enjoyed the reasonably well kept garden.
The shower was okay and we slept okay, except I woke up early because the room was uncomfortably too warm for me.
Overall, our stay was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for you review although we are surprised. We have just finished renovating the cottage. Windows aren’t left open when rooms aren’t occupied, unfortunally due to the heat wave we are experiencing with 40 plus heat rooms can be hot, but with split system air condition of large capacity and ceiling fans in each room it doesn’t take long to cool down. We are not sure what you mean by the sliding door half broken, we have since check the door and no fault has been found. As the receptionist would have indicated to you on arrival to contact office if you need any assistance, we are on sit 24/7 and only too happy to address immediately any issues guests might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Just a one night stay to avoid the high prices of accommodation in Canberra... our room was spacious and well appointed, though a little more expensive than I thought usual for this town. Despite being in the main road there was no traffic noise. The swimming pool proved popular with many guests as it was a very hot afternoon when we arrived. While perhaps a little pricey this is a nice place to stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gryphon_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine W, Manager at Thunderbird Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Gryphon_Lodge

Thank you for your review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Chris & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yass hotels
2 km away
Swaggers Motor Inn
0.6 km away
Colonial Lodge Motor Inn
1.6 km away
Yass Motel
Yass Motel
#5 of 7 in Yass
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hamilton Hume Motor Inn
0.7 km away
Hi-Way Motor Inn
Hi-Way Motor Inn
#4 of 7 in Yass
131 reviews
0.8 km away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 4 in Yass
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 264 Comur St, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Yass
Price Range: $869 - $1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunderbird Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing