We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Shelter

Shelter
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Lennox Head
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With a friend ordered the four course set menu (choice of two dishes in each course) and found the food excellent and the service unpretentious and attentive. The noise level with the music, even when turned down, inside and outside (where we sat) makes conversation difficult.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch visit....nice setting...but limited menu. Sweet potato entree dry and no flavour...eaten only due to being hungry.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank lennoxheadkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021

When I tried to book a table I was offered only one 'Outside' as the inside area was full. 'Outside' is the old carport tarted up with timber slats and zincalume. The two tables were long wooden tops to hold six or eight people. The seating was hard backless benches.

As you can imagine the setting wasn't particularly inspiring. However, the service was bright enough and my wife ordered lamb as a main and I ordered grilled fish. My meal was OK, pricey at 38 dollars, but OK. My wife's lamb was nearly all bone, not what you'd expect a chef to dish up.

All in all we'd not recommend it and will not return

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z3046TEjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelterlennox, General Manager at Shelter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Hey there, sorry to hear about this experience. When booking online 'standard seating' is our indoor seating, this must've been booked unfortunately. I hope you can return, join us indoors and experience what we truly have to offer.

Thanks

Shelter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

We had lunch here and were very happy with all aspects. Great view of the ocean Across the road from the beach. Meals were very good and all had individual character. Service was good.
Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank TRUSTY56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

The service is exceptionally good and friendly and the coffee and muffins are too!
The view is absolutely gorgeous to top it off.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank maureenb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelter also viewed

Lennox Head, New South Wales
Lennox Head, New South Wales
 
Lennox Head, New South Wales
 

Been to Shelter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.