We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,789)
Filter reviews
1,789 results
Traveller rating
1,188
399
129
41
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,188
399
129
41
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course brend hotels golf break brend group golf club taste brasserie sea view round of golf main restaurant indoor and outdoor pools pitch and putt lounge bar lovely hotel wine list tennis courts deluxe room restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,789 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall good service, however we had a power cut that lasted over an hour. For a sizeable hotel, it was disappointing that they did not have a generator to override the situation. No trefund was offerd for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Sea views are the best
  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amencorner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking to the time to review the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the high standard of service that you received. Please accept my sincere apologies for the power cut that you experienced. Due to the poor weather we experienced that week, there was a tree fall and 1200 properties were affected in the local area. I am sure you can appreciate this was out of our control, but was sorted as quickly and efficiently as possible.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
CBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a spa birthday treat, a gift for my 70th. The hotel was difficult to find. The facilities were very average. The changing room was small with only one toilet and not enough lockers. Thevspa itself is pleasant enough, there were plently of towels. The heated stone beds were wonderful for back pain. The pampered foot care was professional but disappointing because instead of being able to lie down there is only an ordinary chair. Fine if you are young and fit but not so good for older clients. The person picking us up had problems finding the hotel so I purchased two drinks far the hotel bar.
On our way back home we bought two bottles of wine, some vegetables, chocolate and biscuits and paid less than the two drinks cost! This is why we rarely have a holiday in our own country. Almost always we find that service, food, and hotels are better value and of either an equal or higher standard outside the UK.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am sorry that it was difficult to find the hotel on this occasion. There are temporary road works restricting access to the hotel at present, but we have endeavoured to inform all guests by newsblogs, text messages and emails on the day of arrival.

I am pleased you found the spa to be pleasant and enjoyed our heated stone beds, but am sorry that you found the chairs uncomfortable for your pedicure/massage. This is far from the feedback we usually receive, I have passed your comments onto the Spa manager. It is important that feedback such as yours is voiced, it enables us to gauge customer feedback and adjust our facilities accordingly.

Kind regards
CBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel really welcomeing as usual spotlessly clean and excellent food the staff all friendly and good. Our room 234 was a bit on the small side though very comfortable with the bath room even smaller no room to swing a kitten let alone a cat. Had a lovely back massage in the spa. Our special offer gave us bottle of wine cream tea and spa discount
so added to the enjoyment. Will be going back again but not to 234.

Room Tip: Sea view room if your budget allows
  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am delighted you had a lovely visit with us, enjoying the complimentary extras with the prosecco and cream tea. We receive excellent feedback with regards to our luxury spa and the treatments available, I am pleased this was also your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
CBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely sea view rooms, clean with new ensuite. Attentive service and Irina a delight at ensuring we had everything. Thanks also for the discrete but welcome celebratory cake too. So nice to all be together .
.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511jackyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoyed your mother's 84th birthday. It is always great to hear from families coming down, the hotel is pleased to provide the perfect getaway for all ages.

Your kind comments about Irina have been passed on to management, who will gratefully receive your feedback.

Kind regards
CBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are locals and often go for Sunday Lunch and have never been disappointed. The food and service are always excellent. Having never stayed there I can’t comment on the rooms but I can say the ambiance of the lounges are superb.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank russellmallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am pleased to hear you that you return to us regularly to enjoy our Sunday lunch, it is certainly very popular. Your kind comments with regards the high level of service provided by our staff is gratefully received and has been passed onto management.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
CBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews