We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
375
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony rides animal feeding gruffalo trail wild kids play barn zip wire soft play games room indoor pool egg collecting wendy house cream cake higher hill rose cottage every morning toasting marshmallows family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

We have just got home from the best family holiday we have ever had. The cottage (Coliza) was beautiful and super clean, the table was set for tea when we arrived with a fresh cream cake in the fridge - it’s the small details that make this place so special.

In the cottage Nanny Pat has written two books with ideas for days out with the children which were really helpful, although you don’t actually have to leave, I could happily have stayed on site for a week and still had things to do. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook and had toys for the children. The cottage was one of the first as you come in so was quite close to a relatively busy road and we didn’t hear anything at night to disturb us.

We fed the animals with farmer Dave every morning and our son loved collecting his very own egg for breakfast! I even bottle fed a lamb which was the highlight of my holiday! The soft play and swimming pool were brilliant and, again, spotlessly clean. The wild kids club was great and Tatum was so lovely, our son spent most of the time at the mud kitchen and we built a camp fire (with fairy quilts and dragon toenails!) and toasted marshmallows. We also loved the gruffalo trail and the big slide and zip wire which were just next to it.

Outside our cottage was the little play area with a covered sand pit, tractor climbing frames with slides, swings and our sons favourite, the play house complete with kitchen and upstairs bedroom. We had to coax him in every evening because all he wanted to do was play!

The staff were so friendly and helpful and you can see how much work and love they put in to the grounds and the cottages. It was almost at full capacity when we stayed but it never felt over crowded or busy.

Thank you for having us Bosinver , we can’t wait to come back and we are telling everyone we know about you!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank MrsDickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Mrs Dickie, Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review about your time here with us at Bosinver, we are thrilled to hear that you all had such a wonderful time whilst staying in Coliza cottage, and that your holiday met all your expectations. I will pass on your kind words to Farmer Dave regarding the morning animal feeding, we are delighted that your experience of feeding the lamb was one of your holiday highlights, and that your son loved collecting his very own eggs, it is a very popular activity amongst our smaller guests. Wild Kids is another very popular activity, and as you say Tatum is a wonderful leader who engages with each and every child to give them a really magical experience.(she is also, possible the only person in the country who has access to fairy quilts and dragon toenails :-) )Thank you for spreading the word about Bosinver Farm Cottages, word of mouth is our very best endorsement. I hope we will be welcoming you and the family back to Bosinver again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We’ve just come home from our 4th stay at Bosinver and like every previous trip, it was a great success. Bosinver offers a Warm welcome, well appointed accommodation and lots to do. The children (aged 6 & 9) had a wonderful time feeding the animals, swimming, roaming around the woods and fields and playing in the stream. This time we also did a kayaking trip with Encounter Cornwall in Golant which was a fantastic experience and which I would highly recommend. An ideal family holiday.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank miriam78842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Miriam78842 We are delighted to hear that you and the children enjoyed your 4th trip here to Bosinver as much as all the other times you have visited, it is always a joy when we have the pleasure of welcoming back returning guests. We are also very happy to hear that the children enjoyed the outdoor freedom that our 30 private acres affords them, it is always wonderful for us to see our younger guests enjoy themselves away from all the constraints of modern technology, and just run wild and free. It is good to know that your Kayaking trip in Golant was a great success, that particular stretch of the Fowey river is so beautiful, I can well imagine what a great day out you all had over there. I hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you back to Bosinver for your 5th visit and even more adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been coming to Bosinver every year since our little girl was 2. What’s most remarkable is that it feels just as magical now with a 7 year old, as it did with a toddler.

The on-site activities - wild kids, welly boot hunt, zip wire, trampoline, play barn, swimming pool, tennis court, pony rides, gruffalo trail (to name but a few!) - are all excellent and capable of keeping everyone entertained! If you do want to venture out there are lots of places of interest close by.

We’ve now stayed in five cottages, and they’ve all been cosy, clean and well maintained. Everything is provided for you, tea towels, washing up liquid, kids cups etc, which makes the start of the holiday a whole lot easier! They also have frozen meals on site, in case you can’t face the food shops on your arrival!

The team are all friendly, helpful and keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. This time was a special occasion for us, and we hired a private chef, recommended on the bosinver website, for the evening. She was fantastic, and made the day even more special.

The return rate to Bosinver’s custom speaks volumes, everyone we spoke to this week had been more than once before, and I see no reason why we won’t be coming for many years to come. It really does feel like we’ve arrived home when we come back here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kirst1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Kirst1980 Thank you for your review we really appreciate you taking the time. It is always a delight to watch some of our littlest guests growing up and gaining in confidence over the years. Its lovely to hear that you still enjoy all the 'old favourites' on-site activities, I will pass on your kind words to Julie our private chef, she really is amazing, we have so many wonderful comments about her catering from our guests. We love to see familiar faces returning to Bosinver, so I hope we will be welcoming you back for visit no 6, there are still a number of cottage for you to try :-)??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

A fantastic place for all the family. This was our third visit as a family with our 2 daughters, son-in-laws and 2 grandchildren aged 7 & 8. Bosinver really is a great place to relax and make memories.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Juliacomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi Juliacomms We were delighted to receive your 5 star review, and so pleased that you and your extended family had another great time at Bosinver. It is always brilliant for us to welcome back returning guests, and a complete joy when no matter how many times they have visited before, they still enjoy the Bosinver 'magic' I hope we can welcome you back to enjoy some more relaxation and the chance to top up those memories again very soon. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Bosinver is a very good destination for families with little people in tow. Our three year old daughter loved it and we would have no hesitation recommending it to our friends with younger children.

We loved:
- The grounds of the farm - the wendy house, slides, sand pit, swings, zip wire and trampoline. Our daughter loved them all.
- The woodlands and lake walk. Beautiful even in wet weather!
-The swimming pool - lovely and clean with a lovely view. The sun terrace would no doubt be welcome in the summer months.
- The morning animal feeds.
- The play barn - a good range of toys for all ages and very impressive.
- The games room - our children were a little old but this would suit 7 year + very well.

We stayed in Coliza which is a beautiful and roomy chocolate box cottage. It was very clean and comfortable although there were a few obvious issues that need some attention such as the fridge door not closing very well and a loose toilet seat. No bother though but we're in a similar business and so pay particular attention to these things.

The horse ride on Tuesday was most enjoyable, although it's a shame it only runs on one day of the week. We would also have loved to see a few more animals on the farm. I'd probably say this is more of a small holding with accommodation rather than a farm. Don't let this put you off though, it is still most enjoyable to feed and stroke the animals every morning!

The local area is lovely to explore. Fowey and Meviagissy are beautiful fishing villages. The local pub in Polgooth is very nice and walkable from Bosinver.

You will not be disappointed with your time at Bosinver and I have no doubt we will be back again in future to enjoy it again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wes05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSmith01, Manager at Bosinver Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hi Wes05 Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bosinver Farm cottages, and equally delighted that you are happy to recommend us to your friends. Coliza is one of our most popular cottages, therefore, we were disappointed to hear that you found some small issues whilst you were staying there, you will be happy to know that these have now been successfully resolved, thank you for bringing them to our attention, but please don't be too shy in making us aware of any little niggles you have, during your stay, we always appreciate the opportunity to fix any problems that our guests encounter, we want your stay to be as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. We are delighted you got to explore some of our beautiful county whilst staying with us,, as you found, we are very blessed here at Bosinver to be centrally located to so many famous and picturesque areas of Cornwall. I hope we can welcome you back to Bosinver again very soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews