We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sort the food service out

Sandy and pebbly beach, because its a cove quite a bit of debris gets, washed up. When the tide... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
theoriginalbookworm1
,
Morecambe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beware the poor parking system

We have been visiting for over 20 years, for the past 4/5 years we have purchased a seasonal car... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2021
Lisa D
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
38
21
5
3
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
21
5
3
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach cafe car parking toilets dog castle sea cornwall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely beach but Don't go there. The Caerhays people have installed a rip off parking spy camera .
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Charlie-Cartwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021

We have been visiting for over 20 years, for the past 4/5 years we have purchased a seasonal car parking ticket from the estate. This worked fantastically when it had the car park attendant in the but who always greeted us like old friends. Can you imagine our horror on the receipt of a £100 fine yesterday after paying £45 in April to cover our visits .
Get rid of the cameras and being back the parking attendant

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

One of our favourite beaches until they started using Initial Parking. No phone signal, none of the machines working, still issued us a £100 fine. Appealed and had a note saying it was cancelled (should never have been issued), a week later got another letter with £100 fine for the same day. Ridiculous.
Sad, as its a lovely place that we had often frequented as locals, that we are now much less inclined to visit.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Baker-BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Very good, safe, beach at Porthluney with excellent walks and swimming. The gardens at Caerhays are a gem.
Be very careful of the Initial Car park charges - it seems they issue tickets then wait for you to appeal. I just appealed my 100 pound charge and they immediately cancelled the ticket, but it should never have been issued in the first place. Parking is free to those who have a ticket for the gardens. I wonder how many people just pay up? As in many other places, these private car park companies are out of control.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank a9korn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

We’ve been to this beach several times over the years. Beautiful spot with really nice cafe (tasty food) and great day out for the family. Make the most of the gardens!!

Was concerned reading the latest comments on parking but did not have that experience - clear and straightforward.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank W9266ATtomt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews