We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Severn Valley railway
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely day. The staff were very helpful, courteous and kind. It brought back memories and was very nostalgic. The stations all look beautiful and the standards was very high. We went to Bewdley and spent an hour there then got back on the train and went back to Highley where we spent 4 hours. There is plenty to read and see at the Engine House although the catering was limited due to COVID. You could get off at Arley and walk to Highley and still have plenty of time at Highley.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Isobel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

fantastic day out with the grandchildren to celebrate my birthday. Started our trip in Kidderminster but hadn’t realised that SVR had a dedicated car park - not well explained in the online documents so we parked away from the railway. had a booked compartment for the whole day, I liked the inclusion of a rubbish bag and hand sanitiser provided and an envelope for charity donation. Stopped off at The Engine House and the grandchildren enjoyed the beach and Punch and Judy Show although they were disappointed not to see Gordon from the Thomas the Tank Engine books as it is a different Gordon. Pity there is not more time to explore Bridgnorth - only had time for a cuppa before getting back on the train for the journey back. All in all a good day and worth the money.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank HilaryAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Wonderful day out, even my non-train-fan husband enjoyed it! We booked the 11am explorer train from Kidderminster to Bridgnorth with a 3 hour stop at Highley. We enjoyed afternoon tea at the Engine Shed, there was more than enough for the 3 of us (2 adults and 9 year old son) to eat and the staff made plainer sandwiches for our son which was thoughtful of them.

The Engine Shed has an interesting exhibition of steam trains and the history of SVR, I could have spent more time there taking it all in.

There’s also a good play area for children.

We had a family compartment on the train which was comfortable.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank jooliem2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

We had an outstanding day out on the SVR. Two adults, our 2 children and our dog. Boarded in Bridgnorth and had stopovers in Bewdley and Kidderminster before heading back to Bridgnorth. Large car park in Bridgnorth, easy to find and costs £4 per day. All stations and trains impeccably clean and staff extremely helpful. We booked a private compartment for our group which is yours for the day to hop on snd hop off all day (the trains run down the line twice in both directions against a fixed timetable). Would recommend the Courtyard in Bewdley for lunch; we had an outside table on the Riverside. Great day that most will enjoy. Thank you so much!

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

A lovely trip in a private compartment on a steam train. Felt very safe, as you book a compartment for your party, and have the number on your wristband. It means you don’t have to wear a mask inside, and can just enjoy your journey. It’s about an hour and a half each way with around 3 hours in Bridgenorth, time for a pub lunch and wander round before the trip back in the same compartment. It gives you a real sense of normality and fun, lovely scenery and full day out. Parking is easy, you can purchase a drink and snacks at each end to take with you. Lots of photo opportunities. A great day out.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank SueME6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Severn Valley railway also viewed

Wolverley, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to Severn Valley railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.