We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna was lovely, the food”

The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Castle Combe
Price range: US$38 - US$69
Description: CUSTOMER NOTICE RESERVATION WITH 24 HOURS NOTICE IS ALWAYS REQUIRED. Please note our Tearoom is not open to the general public. It is a Private Party Venue where you will need a minimum of 6 guests to make a reservation. The venue will then be yours to enjoy exclusively for up to 3 hours. Our maximum capacity is 50. BIRTHDAY PARITES HEN PARTIES BABY SHOWERS ANNIVERSARIES TOUR GROUPS Parking available on site for up to 10 cars. Coaches to use the visitors car park. Bring along your own prosecco to celebrate a special occasion. All special dietary requirements catered for.
Restaurant details
Description: CUSTOMER NOTICE RESERVATION WITH 24 HOURS NOTICE IS ALWAYS REQUIRED. Please note our Tearoom is not open to the general public. It is a Private Party Venue where you will need a minimum of 6 guests to make a reservation. The venue will then be yours to enjoy exclusively for up to 3 hours. Our maximum capacity is 50. BIRTHDAY PARITES HEN PARTIES BABY SHOWERS ANNIVERSARIES TOUR GROUPS Parking available on site for up to 10 cars. Coaches to use the visitors car park. Bring along your own prosecco to celebrate a special occasion. All special dietary requirements catered for.
Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

Anna was lovely, the food was super, best vegan cream tea I’ve had. Thanks Anna it was delicious, we really enjoyed the food and wandering around, it’s such a pretty place!! Will be eating cake for a week lol!!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank lauradN2818SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
131robertsanna, Owner at The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Good morning Laura, it was lovely to welcome you all and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Castle Combe, your Afternoon Tea Party and the walk. So pleased the weather was just for you and hope we will see you again in the future sometime. All the best. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful venue, with a very helpful host, Anna and a delicious afternoon tea with our dietry needs catered for. A private event that would suit any special celebration, or just because! Ample parking, I really wish I could give more stars! I will definitely be returning and would highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank sharonbR1810BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
131robertsanna, Owner at The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Good morning Sharon, thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your afternoon teas and that you managed to take a stroll in the village afterwards without any rain. Hope to see you again in the future sometime. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

After the year we’ve all had it was such a treat to meet with family here. Our group had a few different dietary requirements and Anna went over and above what I expected to put on the most amazing afternoon tea. There was so much food so we took it home - there will be cake for days... brilliant! It was great to have a private space to meet and although there are still restrictions in place this worked so much better than meeting in a restaurant. The tables were distanced but Anna arranged them so all the guests could catch up with one another.

It’s a beautiful room, the food is delicious - something for everyone.

Couldn’t recommend this more for a get together with friends and/or family.

Thank you for all your hard work Anna!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank CTT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreamTea2015, Owner at The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you!!! Our first review of the year since re-opening. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your visit and Afternoon Teas and it must have been wonderful to see your family and friends again after all this time apart. Thank you so much for this review and I hope you'll come back again in the future. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020

What a delightful and mouth watering feast! We booked 'take away' teas due to the pandemic. Anna was incredibly thoughtful and organised. The teas were really well packed for us to take away and have where we wanted. Anna had some lovely helpful tips about walks and picnic spots in the area.

The teas themselves were really devine. Everyone loved a different element. The Tuna sandwiches got particular applause. The chocolate cake was also a favourite and the scones...well they disappeared in seconds. one of the lightest, tastiest scones i've ever had. perfect amount of cream.

Also the actual take away tea drinks were also remarkable. seems silly to say but everyone thought so!

Anna worked alot of magic and made our day in the area incredibly sweet and special :)

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delphine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
131robertsanna, Owner at The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hello Delphine, well what a wonderful review to wake up to, thank you. I'm glad you had such a good experience and day here in the village and I hope you'll come back again. In the winter months when picnics are perhaps not the best way to go, you can also reserve my private venue pop up tearoom here in the village. You would need a minimum of 6 guests to have private use. Hope to see you again. Have a great weekend. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2020

Wonderful food, picnic blankets and bone china supplied by Anna to eat in the sun. Anna made sure to adapt to our requirements and really made it special for us. Delicious!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Londoner249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
131robertsanna, Owner at The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2020

Many thanks for your review and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your picnics. You've actually reviewed here on The Old Rectory Tea-room listing which is currently closed to guests. We do have a separate trip advisor listing for The Little Picnic Shop which is a separate business. If it's not too much trouble, would love to have this review on there. Many thanks. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe also viewed

 

Been to The Old Rectory Pop Up Tearoom - Castle Combe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.