We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
27 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Initech8US$182
TripadvisorUS$80
BluthCompany
Initech
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
817
299
95
98
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
817
299
95
98
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irrigation room beet farm beet wine table making goat harry potter battlestar galactica bedtime story the barn indoor plumbing cousin mose america room bed and breakfast themed rooms civil war schrute family simpler times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It's a hidden gem in PA, not to be missed! I went there with family and totally loved it. The drive was nice as was the stay. Overall a memorable holiday, thanks to the management. I will definitely plan to go there again and again. The food was great. We could choose from about 7 different cuisines and ate to our heart's content.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poojagarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack S, Proprietario at Schrute Farms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un avis pour Schrute Farms. Nous apprécions tous les commentaires. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez aimé votre séjour chez nous, et nous espérons vous revoir bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Well, we rambled in after a hot dusty drive down I-41 across Pennsylvania... man, that desert heat out there is something else. Although the view from the top of Mt. Snakewood makes it worth every mile. Anyway, as we pulled into Schrute Farms, a strange little guy with a neckbeard came scampering across the field - we would later come to know him as Mose, the friendly tablemaker. Dwight couldn't have been a more gracious host. His knowledge of bears was impressive. After that, we drank beet wine until the sun came up, then passed out in the barn. All in all, highly recommended if you're ever looking for a hay bale, an outhouse, or just some good old Southern humor and hospitality. As they say in Maryland, "They don't make 'em like they used to!"

Room tip: Rooms on the top floor have sweeping views of the harbor skyline
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikechangsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The architecture reminds one of a quaint Tuscan beet farm, and the natural aroma of the beets drifts into the bedrooms and makes you dream of simpler times. You will never want to leave your room. The informative lecture will satisfy all your beet curiosity, and the dawn goose walk will tug at your heart strings. Table making never seemed so possible. Great story to tell your friends. Plenty of parking! The staff’s attention to detail and devotion to cleanliness was limitless. From their enthusiastic welcome to the last wave good-bye, Schrute Farms delivers.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wonderbraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

While visiting my former residence of Wilkes-Barre, PA over the summer decided to make Schrute Farms my home-base while in town. Located 32 mi. northeast of Scranton in quaint, rural Honesdale this charming little beet farm will make you feel as though you've stepped back in time about 200 years. Incidentally Dwight Schrute, the proprietor of Schrute Farms, informed us the mattresses were in fact over 200 years old. Sleeping on them was defiantly a historical experience! Also, completely bedbug free.

Entering the parlor room we immediately noticed an impressive collection of taxidermied animals covering the walls and mantle, some of them originally from Germany. They truly give you the feeling of being watched from every angle once you come inside. We were given our choice of rooms as the only guests at the time. Out first night there we opted for the 'Nighttime Room' as it had recently been renovated. The interior of the room was painted black, including the windows. No light could get through them at all! The furniture and linens had been weather-treated as the renovation of the Nighttime Room includes a view of the night sky, sun-permitting. The lack of a roof was a novelty the first night, but because of inclement weather the second night it was necessary to change rooms. The proprietor was completely accommodating, and even made us hot cocoa. While waiting for out luggage and clothes to dry by the fireplace we watched 'The Hunger Games' and discussed the similarities between it and 'Battle Royale'.

We learned that the America Room featured its own collection of weapons, we decided to stay there. Most of the weapons were apparently left from around the time of the Civil War, during the Battle of Schrute Farms. Strangely, Dwight seemed uninterested in discussing the battle.

Aside from the accommodations Schrute farms offers several fun activities on premises. You can partake in a hands-on beet farming demonstration, table making demonstration, beet-centered cooking class similar to Iron Chef, a wine making class using beets, egg collecting, goose walking, cow-milking and my personal favorite self defense. All of these are taught by either Dwight and/or his cousin.

The week we spend on Schrute farms was fun and memorable. I would recommend it to anyone in the area!

Room tip: Schrute Farms offers rooms with three different themes, each unique. The themes are irrigation, America and nighttime. The Nighttime Room is great if want to enjoy plenty of fresh air! I'd defiantly recommend bringing a pair of golashes, you will be using them. Also ask about Dwight's self-defense course. Feel free to take your own weapons from home! They're welcome!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Have you ever been to an Office Christmas party in the UK? Well, everyone gets drunk and it is really embarrassing. The next day you either do not remember what happened or you choose not to remember... Well, this hotel is like an unmitigated nightmare of a recurring Office party. Ricky Gervais likes to go every week on Fridays and boss everyone around, telling awful jokes and not PC. Pathetic. My room smelled of lager and something organic... Not great. Service was non-existent as people were too busy drinking and the Staff were partying with the guests.

Only good thing is that it was free!

Only go there if you are already drunk
;-)

Room tip: Ask for parking lot views... more fun
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews