We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, not very good”
Review of The Galley

The Galley
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Galley has been a Marietta gathering place for generations. The Galley is quite literally in the center of Historic Downtown Marietta and continues to be the hub of its entertainment world. Marietta College students and alumni meet each other for Homecoming, Graduation, reunions and formals here. Business people hold meetings, client dinners, seminars and banquets with us. Travelers have been delighted with our cuisine and atmosphere. Of course, our beloved locals have turned The Galley into the Mid-Ohio Valley's hot spot for Happy Hour, Wing Nights, Mug Club Mondays, friendly meetings, bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, and sometimes "just because". We are on a culinary mission to provide Marietta and the surrounding Mid-Ohio Valley with the most interesting and best quality food possible. Our Culinary Director has designed a menu based upon fresh ingredients, quality meats and vegetables, unique flavors and familiar favorites. The Galley's culinary perspective sits at the crossroads of neighborhood gastropub and high-end steak house. Tapping into the local dining scene takes just that - taps. And guess what, we have 24 of them. We also carry well over 50 bottled beers and a 6-page beverage menu that will make you drool. Three antique bars serve specialty libations, rotating craft brews, domestic beers, aged whiskies and even cigars! In an effort to keep the newest and best selection for our customers, we host craft brew and wine dinners. These limited ticket evenings pair seasonal beers and wines with multi-course meals and live entertainers for a distinctive culinary experience.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Tried it for a business dinner. Nice building and nice interior. Food is terribly overpriced and actually not very good. For sure not worth the price. Service is just average at best. Kind of a stuffy atmosphere. Don't think I will go again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Travfromohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We had a couple of dinners here during a visit to Marietta. Service was efficient and the food arrived quickly. My husband gave the burgers and fries 2 thumbs up, but he was disappointed they were out of onion rings and the craft beer of his choice. Salads were fresh and tasty. The decor is tired and could use a serious refresh. Yes, it’s an historic building, but large rips in the booth upholstery are an example of needed repairs.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank CathyT1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Seated right away, friendly server. Ordered an appetizer and it was good. Ordered the ultimate bacon cheeseburger. Wife ordered new england fish basket. Specifically requested medium as the menu recommended and no onions but everything else. Both meals come with fries. The burger was overcooked to the point of falling apart in pieces out of the bun and covered in onions. The fries for both dinners were soggy and cold and nasty. Wife said the fish was ok but too much breading covering it made it hard to taste any fish. The prices were insanely high and we will never go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank pizzaman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is attached to the Hackett Hotel, and exudes a cool vibe. We were told by locals that this is the ‘go to’ place in town. We found this to be so, as we waited approximately twenty minutes for a table on a Friday evening.
Dining al fresco on a lovely Spring evening was an enjoyable experience...the food, not so much. A steak ordered medium rare was definitely cooked medium. We were offered either a free dessert or a discount on our bill as compensation. My ‘wasabi crusted ahi tuna’ was essentially medium rare tuna spread with wasabi.
The restaurant is a good place to sit and have a few drinks, as they have a decent beer selection. However, I won’t be in a hurry to return for a meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Had spent several weeks working in Marietta and made the rounds of local restaurants which did not live up to their reviews. This was the notable exception. Service was very slow on a night when few tables were occupied but the waitress was pleasant when she finally came around. It was a gorgeous night and I ate outside on the patio. Eventually had to ask that the lights be put on so I could see my food. While my mixed drink was only OK, my dinner was great. Salmon with crab on risotto. Often times in small towns the fish is over cooked but not here. A generous portion of very fresh salmon perfectly prepared as was the risotto and the asperagus. There was very little crab but what little there was tasted good and given how good the dinner was, the salad lacked imagination and was disappointing as was the bread which was toasted and dry. With a little more work, this could definitely have been a 5 star experience! When I return to town, I will absolutely be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing