We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strahan Village
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Risby Cove(Strahan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Strahan(Strahan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
The Empire Hotel(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
West Coaster Motel(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
232
393
256
88
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
393
256
88
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerhilltop roomhilltop executivegordon river cruisesplit levelharbour viewexecutive roomhill topwaterfront cottagesmain buildinggreat roomtwo nightsmini barhamers hotelfantastic viewsfish and chipsmacquarie harbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Room comfortable, spacious, beds comfy, tv fine following the detailed instructions, cool and quiet up the back (doesn't need air conditioning!!)Took us a little bit on day one to find the walkway / stairs down... And parking was a little difficult on some nights... Very convenient to the activities and shops down on the wharf... Beautiful views from the restaurant and bar.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Sandan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Sandan71

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. By the sound of your review you stayed in one of our hill top standard rooms. Glad to read you were able to take in the view overlooking Macquarie Harbour from View 42 Restaurant, hope you stayed for dinner.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This place has a bit of a monopoly on accommodation in the centre of town. Arriving late in the afternoon we didn't have much time to source accommodation before heading off on the river cruise so felt we had to take what was available. There is beautiful accommodation offered by Strahan Village in town however we were diverted to the top of the hill to a unit which was over priced, view of the carpark and pretty ordinary for an overnight fee of $199. Certainly did not get our monies worth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if diverted to the motel rooms on the hill.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armidalekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Hi Armidalekay

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in star rating and location throughout Strahan. Peak season commences just after Christmas day and as a result we run at extremely high levels of occupancy with only a couple of rooms available for sale each day. We recommend definitely booking before you arrive to ensure you get the room of your choice.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Not what we booked, it says we have a bath, king size bed, cable channels, we had none of that. Room was noisy with no,privacy from rooms next door, they were all complaining as well, none of us got what we thought we would for the price we payed, we shortened our stay

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi SPortelli

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologise that the room descriptions did not match the room that you stayed in and you shortened your stay with us. I spent considerable time reviewing the website's we are listed on and picked up a few incorrect descriptions that have now been fixed.

Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed there in January, we stayed in obviously the oldest room with no air conditioning, to be honest I possibly wouldn't go back and stay in those rooms, but the price was the cheapest so if you want air conditioning and views then pay the money for the better rooms. The room was clean and comfortable too and the pillows were amazing. We ate at the View 42 buffet, yum and the staff there was great

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxMichelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MaxMichelle2014

Thanks for posting your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in style, location and cater for the 4 and 3.5 star market.

We have recently invested heavily in purchasing new toweling, linen, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities for all accommodation rooms. We will also be replacing our bed bases towards the end of January.

Glad to read you had an enjoyable dining experience at View 42, the views over looking Macquarie Harbour are amazing hope you were able to catch a sunset.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Initial cottage smelt of sewerage. After a call to reception we were moved into another cottage and offered payment of meal. Very good. Problem is of the 3 restaurants in town one was closed (public hol) other 2 booked out. One pub wouldn't take bookings under 6. Would expect better for tourist town. Don't become complacent !

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MargAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MargAndrew

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have since rectified the smell issue with one of our cottages and I am pleased to hear the team dealt with complaint in a professional manner.

Over the festive period unfortunately not all restaurants were open in Strahan. We operate View 42 Restaurant and Hamers Grill and remained open over this time. The challenge we face is trying to feed in excess of 500 people in a very short period of time. Given the location and type of cuisine Hamers Grill does not take bookings and operate on a walk in basis.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews