We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views& convenient location”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the comfort and convenience of this hilltop accommodation. Easy to walk down the stairs to the activities which draw visitors to Strahan. Also handy to Hamer's grill and Banjo's for breakfast. Prices were not cheap either for rooms or buffets. It was the high season (first week of January). But we really were satisfied. Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zebrasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Zebrasydney

Thanks for posting your review. Our 4 star hilltop harbour view rooms have amazing views overlooking Macquarie Harbour. When you next stay with us we will have finished installing our new beds and noticed the enhancements we have made to our rooms

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Room comfortable, spacious, beds comfy, tv fine following the detailed instructions, cool and quiet up the back (doesn't need air conditioning!!)Took us a little bit on day one to find the walkway / stairs down... And parking was a little difficult on some nights... Very convenient to the activities and shops down on the wharf... Beautiful views from the restaurant and bar.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Sandan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Sandan71

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. By the sound of your review you stayed in one of our hill top standard rooms. Glad to read you were able to take in the view overlooking Macquarie Harbour from View 42 Restaurant, hope you stayed for dinner.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This place has a bit of a monopoly on accommodation in the centre of town. Arriving late in the afternoon we didn't have much time to source accommodation before heading off on the river cruise so felt we had to take what was available. There is beautiful accommodation offered by Strahan Village in town however we were diverted to the top of the hill to a unit which was over priced, view of the carpark and pretty ordinary for an overnight fee of $199. Certainly did not get our monies worth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if diverted to the motel rooms on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armidalekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Hi Armidalekay

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in star rating and location throughout Strahan. Peak season commences just after Christmas day and as a result we run at extremely high levels of occupancy with only a couple of rooms available for sale each day. We recommend definitely booking before you arrive to ensure you get the room of your choice.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Not what we booked, it says we have a bath, king size bed, cable channels, we had none of that. Room was noisy with no,privacy from rooms next door, they were all complaining as well, none of us got what we thought we would for the price we payed, we shortened our stay

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi SPortelli

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologise that the room descriptions did not match the room that you stayed in and you shortened your stay with us. I spent considerable time reviewing the website's we are listed on and picked up a few incorrect descriptions that have now been fixed.

Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed there in January, we stayed in obviously the oldest room with no air conditioning, to be honest I possibly wouldn't go back and stay in those rooms, but the price was the cheapest so if you want air conditioning and views then pay the money for the better rooms. The room was clean and comfortable too and the pillows were amazing. We ate at the View 42 buffet, yum and the staff there was great

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxMichelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MaxMichelle2014

Thanks for posting your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in style, location and cater for the 4 and 3.5 star market.

We have recently invested heavily in purchasing new toweling, linen, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities for all accommodation rooms. We will also be replacing our bed bases towards the end of January.

Glad to read you had an enjoyable dining experience at View 42, the views over looking Macquarie Harbour are amazing hope you were able to catch a sunset.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
84 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
300 reviews
1.0 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.7 km away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: HK$673 - HK$1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing