We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. The worst restaurant experience experience in years”
Review of The Bay Restaurant

The Bay Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$116
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Superb contemporary dining at Freycinet Lodge, overlooking Great Oyster Bay. The Bay is renowned for its outstanding seafood and is consistently rated as one of the east coast of Tasmania's best restaurants.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Terrible. Poor service. Had to wait 20 mins before flagging down a waitress to ask for drinks. Building works (renovations)with circular saws during dinner service. Why? Ridiculously overpriced. Kids pizza is one slice. The front desk person was our waitress and thus we never saw her and had to ask other staff who then said, “I’ll go and get your waitress”. Mains came with no sides. The seafood paella barely contained any seafood. Easily the worst service I’ve experienced in a restaurant for years and to go with that, the meals were stingy and overpriced. Would never return, and would recommend to no one.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ROD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear Rod,

I am extremely sorry you had such a poor experience with us. I ask that you please contact me on reception@freycinetlodge.com.au and share some further information about the date you dined so I can investigate thoroughly.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Brad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

After a hard day of bushwalking the Bay was the perfect chooce for dinner. The food was lovely, both the duck and the pork were excellent. Service was very good and prompt. Looking forward to returning here again

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Passenger612772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear Diner,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kind regards,
Brad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The first place we visit at freycinet NP after information center. The restaurant was nice and warm during our visit, with great view. Service was quick and the food was excellent as well.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TimOey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Tim,

Thanks for stopping by to enjoy a meal with us and taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,
Brad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has a fantastic vista overlooking Coles Bay and it offers a wonderful al a crate menu in the evening. The menu and wine list is impressive, and the food quality was first class. This was an outstanding experience and a great way to spend the evening.
The buffet breakfast was more functional than memorable, and with more diners the atmosphere of dinner is not replicated. The breakfast was serviceable. The staff were friendly and courteous.
Thanks for your vote.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear TWal1,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. I have passed a copy of your feedback onto our team.

Kind regards,
Brad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent meal after walking in without a reservation. The food, wine and deserts were all very nice. The service was excellent from David our waiter. Highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SinceZermatt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at The Bay Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear SinceZermatt1985,

Great to read your review! Thanks for joining us for dinner and for taking the time to compliment David – I have passed a copy of your kind words onto David and the team.

Kind regards,
Brad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Restaurant also viewed

 
Freycinet, Glamorgan-Spring Bay
 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to The Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing