We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake St Clair Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake St. Clair Tourist Park(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveller rating
323
464
217
66
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
464
217
66
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit levelking roomnational parkking splitcradle mountainsmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcomfortable chairsspa roomcommon areasbit dateddove lakebush landlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The room was wonderful; food was excellent and the walkway behind the hotel had wallabies and other animals along the pathways. It was a lovely location; very convenient to scenic walks in the Park. I woke to find not one but two wallabies on my patios. How wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This hotel is conveniently located close to the Cradle Mt Visitor centre and the entry to the National Park. It has a very pleasant archiitecture and decor, it looks contemporary, bright and and stylish, clean and minimalistic, with a mountain chalet flavour given by the log fire heaters spread through tbe main lobby, restaurant and living/sitting rooms that connect the various sections of the facility. We had booked a standard queen room which came at a little more than $200/night, with a discount for being a member of an interstate automobile club. The room accommodates 2 persons in a king size bed. The pleasant surprise was that the room is a spacious split level with two sections: a bedroom and a living room, each witn its own TV. Parking and wi-fi also free. Bathroom has a spa bath and shower. On the minus side, all the fittings appear a bit tired. There also was a bit of lack of attention to detail, in terms on cleanliness etc: there is mould in the shower /basin, night table clock display the wrong time & date, no paper tissues/serviettes. On the plus side, hotel pleasantly smells on forest fragrance and toiletries are also god quality and have forest inspired fragrances. The roo has a small balcony and views to the forest and there is an easy 20 minutes forest hike via boardwalk accessible from multiple points in the hotel, whre you can get your first tastebof the amazing Tasmanian rainforest. Small kangaroos (wallabies) also meet & greet us on arrival, as well as coming under the balcony, to ask for food, but one is not supposed to feed them. Full breakfast is included, but it is very basic, not up to the standard of similarly priced hotels world-wide. For dinner there are 2 options: all you can eat buffet priced at $52/person, or a-la-carte with most meals priced around $35. The bufftet may sound good, as thee are many choices, but on inspection the offering looks very basic and uninspired. We ordered a-la-carte and were not disapointed by the soup of the day (corn and chicken) and the Tasmanian Ocean Trout for the main. The reception and restaurant staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The arts & crafts centre opposite the hotel is worth a visit especially for the young. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rainforest views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dannex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderfully sized rooms surrounded by bush land and local wildlife that sit right on your porch! Great gallery attached too which was insightful on the tassie tiger. There wasn't much around as far as grocery stores go so we had to eat out each night which got pricey but overall a really great hotel just a short drive from dove lake and the mountain. Very cold so rug up, it snowed like crazy over one of the nights and we woke up to a snowy frenzy outside which we didn't pack for so pack warm in winter!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A lodge set in the mountains with overhang decks onto the forest. Wallabies visit at twilight. Stars are bright at night. Food is wonderful, some of best in Aussie-land. Buffet at breakfast and dinner. Abundant choices, including fruits. Rooms spacious. Can't say enough. Note- was there in the "winter-spring" time so snow and a bit cool in rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Anise2014,

Thank you for your positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you enjoyed Cradle Mountain.

Regards,

Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I decided that we needed a romantic night away as I'd been working quite a lot lately and he'd been sick.
We thought why not go all out and get the best room and spoil ourselves.
Apon arrival we were greated with a happy face in reception who was very helpful.
Once we got into our room, we were happy with the bed although the room was like a sauna - very hot!
We turned the heater onto low then did the small board walk just outside our room then followed onto Dove Lake.
Upon returning, our room was cold like we'd switched the heater off, although we hadn't. We just didn't expect it to be that cold.
Everything was clean and tidy, except the spa bath.. It had hair throughout it...
We got room service which the lady who delivered it was lovely and very polite. Kudos to her.

The meal was over all enjoyable and just something light and casual how we wanted it

Before a shower, we cranked the heater onto high.
Followed by movies and bed..
We expected to wake up to the room being way too hot as the heater was on high but we woke up to a still pretty cold room.

Breakfast was okay.
We were going to leave this review in the room but no pen provided and I didn't have one on me.

Over all, we were dissatisfied with the amount we paid and the entirety of the stay.
We won't be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karinastarr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear karinastarr93, thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your review regarding our staff and will pass your comments on to the team.
I will direct the housekeeping team to have the heaters on a more mild setting. which will keep the room at an even temperature.

Kind Regards,

Todd Roberts Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews