We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation on Cradle Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I couldn't get into Peppers so felt like I'd had to settle for a 'poor cousin' when we got a room at Cradle Mountain Hotel, but we were beyond pleased with this choice. The hotel sits at the entrance to the small strip of activity around Cradle Mountain, maybe a km to the visitor centre and entrance to the National Park. Upon arrival, it was cosy and welcoming with warm fires and a ski lodge kind of atmosphere. Our rooms were warm and comfortable - I'd been worried they may have been cold so had requested portable heaters which were in both our rooms and perfect for drying our wet shoes and jackets after our walk around Dove lake (in the rain and snow!). We didn't have the buffet but instead had a meal of 'bar snacks' - burgers, wings etc in the bar and played pool. Breakfast was included with our room with a big buffet breakfast with loads of suggestions including an omlette/egg station etc. There is also a sauna/outdoor spa for guests to use which we would have if we'd had more time. The rooms were perfect, the atmosphere cosy and the location was just fine. We did look at Peppers later and while it looked good too, we were more than happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff. Hotel was excellent compared to reviews, sure the rooms could do with an upgrade but the beds are excellent and the place is clean and tidy. Plenty to do on site and in the park, free parking and access to the on site Gallery. Will definitely come back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank btwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The room was wonderful; food was excellent and the walkway behind the hotel had wallabies and other animals along the pathways. It was a lovely location; very convenient to scenic walks in the Park. I woke to find not one but two wallabies on my patios. How wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This hotel is conveniently located close to the Cradle Mt Visitor centre and the entry to the National Park. It has a very pleasant archiitecture and decor, it looks contemporary, bright and and stylish, clean and minimalistic, with a mountain chalet flavour given by the log fire heaters spread through tbe main lobby, restaurant and living/sitting rooms that connect the various sections of the facility. We had booked a standard queen room which came at a little more than $200/night, with a discount for being a member of an interstate automobile club. The room accommodates 2 persons in a king size bed. The pleasant surprise was that the room is a spacious split level with two sections: a bedroom and a living room, each witn its own TV. Parking and wi-fi also free. Bathroom has a spa bath and shower. On the minus side, all the fittings appear a bit tired. There also was a bit of lack of attention to detail, in terms on cleanliness etc: there is mould in the shower /basin, night table clock display the wrong time & date, no paper tissues/serviettes. On the plus side, hotel pleasantly smells on forest fragrance and toiletries are also god quality and have forest inspired fragrances. The roo has a small balcony and views to the forest and there is an easy 20 minutes forest hike via boardwalk accessible from multiple points in the hotel, whre you can get your first tastebof the amazing Tasmanian rainforest. Small kangaroos (wallabies) also meet & greet us on arrival, as well as coming under the balcony, to ask for food, but one is not supposed to feed them. Full breakfast is included, but it is very basic, not up to the standard of similarly priced hotels world-wide. For dinner there are 2 options: all you can eat buffet priced at $52/person, or a-la-carte with most meals priced around $35. The bufftet may sound good, as thee are many choices, but on inspection the offering looks very basic and uninspired. We ordered a-la-carte and were not disapointed by the soup of the day (corn and chicken) and the Tasmanian Ocean Trout for the main. The reception and restaurant staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The arts & crafts centre opposite the hotel is worth a visit especially for the young. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rainforest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dannex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderfully sized rooms surrounded by bush land and local wildlife that sit right on your porch! Great gallery attached too which was insightful on the tassie tiger. There wasn't much around as far as grocery stores go so we had to eat out each night which got pricey but overall a really great hotel just a short drive from dove lake and the mountain. Very cold so rug up, it snowed like crazy over one of the nights and we woke up to a snowy frenzy outside which we didn't pack for so pack warm in winter!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
66 reviews
38.7 km away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
112 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
806 reviews
1.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
740 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: HK$1,273 - HK$2,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing