We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy fires and tame wallabies - located close to Dove Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We loved staying at Cradle Mountain Hotel! The room was lovely - modern, clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the wilderness area (complete with its own boardwalk!) out the back of the property.
There is even a huge gallery onsite, with art displays, a huge gift shop and special rooms for kids to play in.
Inside the main hotel building, there are large lounges with TVs, a pool table and log fires. The restaurant is top class, and the food is delicious. There are cosy wood fire lounges dotted all around the hotel for you to relax in.
Around the outside of the hotel (and even on your balcony!) you will find extremely quiet wallabies - Pademelons as they are formally known as - and these little guys are as cute as animals come.
Location wise, a few minutes drive down the road and you are at the visitor's centre and the world-famous Dove Lake. This hotel makes the perfect base for a trip to Cradle Mountain.

Room Tip: Book as close to the main restaurant area as you can to avoid walking the extra corridor distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lets Go Mum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your comments on your recent stay with us. I will pass your comments on to our team members to read,

Regards, Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Stayed here overnight end August. Unfortunately it didn't snow but was lovely nonetheless. Room was plenty big enough for 2 adults and 1 child (7 yrs). The all you can eat dinner is fantastic and well worth a try. Love the log fires throughout the building and the art gallery is lovely.

Room Tip: Try the all you can eat buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review AmandaLHR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a work conference and absolutely loved it!
The snow that fell was amazing and staff were a delight! The food was absolutely tasty. I am definitely recommending this place for the full works! It's hard to find a place that suits 16 people but these guys made it seem easy! Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review Tamara S, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and your conference. Regards, Todd Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is tired and needs some TLC as you can see from these bathroom photos. It was snowing during our stay and the small heater in the room was entirely inadequate, we had to wear our jackets in our room because we were so cold. The plug to the bath was a cheap thin flimsy thing that sunk into the hole once water was in the bath and leaked so much we had to keep topping the bath up. The buffet was not nice quality, lamb that had more fat than meat on the slices, satay chicken that was dry even though sauce was nice. I ordered a mocktail $11 only to discover the next morning that the same juice was free at the buffet! The tv did not work in our room just to top off our disappointment. This hotel is not as polished as it once was and needs attention.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank tassiedevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear tassiedevil169,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not enjoyable.
I have passed on your feedback to our Food & Beverage department to take a look at your comments and follow up accordingly.
Unfortunately during the snow storm that we had at Cradle Mountain a transformer broke due to the heavy amount of snow which affected most businesses here at Cradle Mountain. I do apologise for the inconvenience. IN regards to our heating we do have extra blankets in the room and extra heaters available at reception. However we are currently looking at upgrading the hotel to rectify these occurrences. I hope that you enjoyed the snow and the rest of your time in Cradle Mountain.
Kind Regards, Todd Roberts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We spent a couple of very relaxing days here during a heavy snow fall in early September 2017. There was too much snow to walk far from the hotel, but we took little walks and spent time reading by the warm open fires and enjoying a red wine. The restaurant food was excellent. We enjoyed a main course of excellent Pork belly, on a bed of red cabbage, with mini potatoes and coriander, followed by a delicious cheese platter . The staff were very attentive and helpful. When we were ready to leave, hotel staff were on hand to help with snow clearance from our car.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Marlene671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd R, Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Marlene671,
Thank you for your review, I am please to read you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments regarding our team members is great to read, I have passed them on to read.
Regards Todd Roberts, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
38.5 km away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#2 of 2 in Sheffield
66 reviews
2.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,440 reviews
0.3 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
741 reviews
4.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
453 reviews
63.6 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: Astell 3718 Cradle Mountain Rd, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: HK$1,242 - HK$2,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Cradle Mountain Hotel sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Hotel is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing