We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lake St Clair Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,114)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
322
464
217
66
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
464
217
66
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet dinnerwilderness gallerysplit levelking roomnational parkking splitcradle mountainsmall balconya la carte restaurantstandard roomcomfortable chairsspa roomcommon areasbit dateddove lakebush landlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This establishment projects quality and it does not disappoint. From the staff at reception through to the bar and dinning room all shown a dedication to service and friendly manner.
The standard room is of a good standard with all the facilities you would expect in any upmarket capital city hotel.
The walks and Gallery next door also help you to relax and slow down for a short period.

Room Tip: Great place to relax after climbing Cradle Mountain
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayser46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear rayser46,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and all of it's facilities. I have passed your comments onto the entire team, they are very appreciative of you comments. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located near to cradle mountain. A very nice hotel, nice comfortable room m shower, reception staff are friendly. If u are lucky u get to see wallaby at the carpark. We were there a few days ago n it was raining with strong wind. Hence we really appreciate that we are staying in a hotel with fire wood along the corridor of this hotel.

The only down side is the restaurant is only so so (greygum). This is much to our expectation as there are not many choices in the mountain.

Price is on the higher side but definitely worth it.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank liting2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear liting2015,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This was our first visit to Cradle Mountain. The national park and the surrounding area is some of the best pristine wilderness I have ever seen. This hotel is minutes away and provides a very comfortable place to put your feet up, relax, have a few drinks and a good meal after a day of walking around the various magnificent tracks in the area. Rooms are spacious, and while the hotel is not exactly new, everything works the way it is supposed to. Full length ( and width ) windows at the end of the room provide a very close view of the surrounding woodland. We had several visits from some local wallabies who don't seem bothered by humans all all. It was freezing cold we arrived ( in Summer! ) and so appreciated the reading room with wood-fired heater next to our room. We ate at the "Grey Gum" restaurant on both nights and were not dissapoined. Top quality food and friendly staff. We were also allowed to keep our motorcycles under the entry portico which was a nice bonus, especially given how cold it was when we arrived.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear Steven G,

Thankyou for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities, I am also glad that you were able to explore the National Park as well. I have passed your comments onto all staff who are most appreciative of your recognition!.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is badly in need of a re-fit. Everything works but it is very old fashioned. The bathroom was particularly grim.
Breakfast is plentiful but not tasty. The fruit and croissants were the best things. Ghastly coffee. There is a buffet dining room or an a la carte. The buffet sounded horrendous and we later heard that the food was not good. We tried the a la carte and found the food not to our taste with very small portions.
There is wifi. Plenty of parking.
Reception staff were good.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear jeminab,

Thankyou for you comments. Can you please contact me directly on 03 6492 1404 to discuss your comments further.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Beautiful place for a perfect holiday. Very good for nature lovers and for people who love walking in mountains. Nice weather.

There is only one cafe in the information center. A near by grocery also available. Be there before 6PM if you want to buy anything.

Visit the national park in the evening if you want to see animals such as Wombats, Wallabies, Echidnas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebugDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Dear IcebugDJ,

Thankyou for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and it's surrounds, also, you were able to enjoy the National Park!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Cradle Mountain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews